LibGuides: ENG 101 • English Composition [Carter]: Books &amp; eBooks

Overview • Library Catalogs

What is the library catalog? Generally speaking, a library catalog is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection. Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

Select Titles • AI

Main General and Reserve collection titles circulate.

Artificial Intelligence
Call Number: Main Reserves: Q335 .W55 2023
In this comprehensive, beautifully illustrated account, AI expert Yorick Wilks traces the history of artificial intelligence back to its origins, examining not only how it works and why it was designed but also its controversies and achievements.
Artificial Intelligence
Call Number: Main Reserves Q335 .C4845 2022
An Introduction for the Inquisitive Reader guides readers through the history and development of AI, from its early mathematical beginnings through to the exciting possibilities of its potential future applications.
AI Needs You
Call Number: Main General HM846 .H3684 2024
As AI’s power grows, so does the need to figure out what—and who—this technology is really for. AI Needs You argues that it is critical for society to take the lead in answering this urgent question and ensuring that AI fulfills its promise.
Ethical Machines
Call Number: Main General Q334.7 .B53 2022
Blackman explains ethics concepts and confusions about them; three big challenges of artificial intelligence ethics, particularly bias, privacy, and explaining outputs of AI; how to create an AI ethics statement that guides actions in an organization; the structure of an effective AI ethical risk program; and how product teams should think about ethics and content

Overview • eBook Collections

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device.

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
De Gruyter University Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
De Gruyter is one of the world’s largest and most reputable humanities publishers. This eBook collection covers a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
Full Collection Expired; 2023 Frontlist e-books from the following university press publishers will be made available with perpetual access as they are published: Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)

Select eBooks • AI

AI and Popular Culture
AI and Popular Culture explores the development and social significance of artificial intelligence by looking at representations in fiction, film and television, as well as examining the effect of AI technologies on the way we consume culture
The AI Mirror
Rejecting prophecies of doom, the author encourages us to pursue technology that helps us recover our sense of the possible, and with it the confidence and courage to repair a broken world. Rethink what AI is and can be, and what we want to be with it.
Ethics of Artificial Intelligence
The use and practical applications of AI is growing exponentially, discussion of its ethical implications is still in its infancy. This volume provides an invaluable resource for thinking through the ethical issues surrounding AI today and for shaping the study and development of AI in the coming years.
The AI Delusion
The real danger is not that computers are smarter than us, but that we think computers are smarter than us and, so, trust computers to make important decisions. AI Delusion explains why we should not be intimidated into thinking that computers are infallible, that data-mining is knowledge discovery, and that black boxes should be trusted.
The Cambridge Handbook of Responsible Al
This volume addresses the most pressing philosophical, ethical, legal, and societal challenges posed by AI. Contributors from different disciplines and sectors explore the foundational and normative aspects of responsible AI and provide a basis for a transdisciplinary approach to responsible AI.
AI - Limits and Prospects of Artificial Intelligence
The emergence of AI has triggered enthusiasm and promise of boundless opportunities as much as uncertainty about its limits. This title explore the limits of AI, describes the necessary conditions for its functionality, reveals technical and social problems, and present potential solutions.