Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.
Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, has provides access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, and Gale. These proprietary resources are restricted to select users; for this reason, off campus use requires login with AU credentials.
Alphabetical listing of Archer Library databases and eBook collections.
Looking at Career Basics
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.
Sage Skills Students is an interactive digital resource enabling students to develop and practice the skills needed to thrive at college or university.
Explora provides students with research tools to obtain appropriate types of content (magazines, newspapers, biographies, etc.) on a variety of topics.
Select Databases for Career Exploration
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
A current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics. Contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, and government information.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument).