LibGuides: Children's Literature • Genres: Genre Resources

Looking at Genres

There are many great children's literature resources in the library. This page features a sampling of titles that include information on children's literature genres located in the circulating, reference, and IRC reference collections. Ask in the IRC for help locating genre resources and other title featured in this LibGuide.

Children's Lit Genres: AU Circulating

Literature and the Child
Call Number: Z1037 .C946 2017
"Concise coverage of the formats & genres of children’s literature & principles for the use of children’s literature in the classroom. Discussions illuminate specific aspects of format or genre, supported by information on the latest quality works appropriate for children through middle school."
Children's Literature in Action
Call Number: Z1037.A1 V39 2014
"Provides author comments, collaborative activities, featured books, special topics and programs, selected awards and celebrations, historical connections, recommended resources, issues for discussion, relevant professional standards, and assignment suggestions within each chapter."
Charlotte Huck's Children's Literature: a Brief Guide
Call Number: LB1575.5.U5 K54 2014
"Expertly designed in a vibrant, full-color format, this streamlined text has a strong emphasis on researching, evaluating, and implementing quality books in the classroom, the critical skills needed to search for and select literature."
The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature
Call Number: PN6714 .G734 2014
"The original three-volume anthology The Graphic Canon presented the world's classic literature--from ancient times to the late twentieth century--as eye-popping comics, illustrations, and other visual forms. In this follow-up volume,"
Handbook of Research on Children's and Young Adult Literature
Call Number: PS121 .H22 2011
"Introduces analytic frames for studying YA novels, picturebooks, indigenous literature, graphic novels, & other genres. Chapters include commentary on literary experiences & creative production from renowned authors & illustrators."
A Family of Readers
Call Number: PN1009.A1 S8795 2010
"Two of the most trusted reviewers in the field join with top authors, illustrators, and critics in the definitive guide to choosing books for children and young adults--and nurturing their love of reading."

Children's Literature: A Readers History
PN1009.A1 L49 2008
Children's Literature: Discovery for a Lifetime
LB1575 .S86 2009
Children's Literature Briefly
PN1008.83J33 2008
A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature
PN1009.A1 L84 2007
Encyclopedia of Fantasy and Horror Fiction
PR830.F3 D36 2006
From Cover to Cover: Evaluating and Reviewing Children's Books
PN98.B7 H67 2010
Historical Fiction for Teens: A Genre Guide
Z1231.H57 R33 2011

eBook Collections

Select eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or OneSearch, or explore one of our many eBook collections.

Critical Foundations in Young Adult Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2013)
"Pushing the genre forward, Antero Garcia builds on his experiences as a former high school teacher to offer strategies for integrating Young Adult literature in a contemporary critical pedagogy through the use of participatory media."
Young People, Learning and Storytelling
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook (2019)
"Examines how young people can learn about themselves and their peers through storytelling. Uses empirical and qualitative data from storytelling projects in UK schools to see how storytelling can influence learning"
Children's Literature
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2014)
" Children's Literature traces the development of the main genres of children's books one by one, including fables, fantasy, adventure stories, moral tales, family stories, school stories, children's poetry and illustrated and picture books."
Children's Literature in Context
Call Number: EBSCO eBook (2011)
"Children's Literature in Context is a clear, accessible and concise introduction to children's literature and its wider contexts. It begins by introducing key issues involved in the study of children's literature and its social, cultural and literary contexts. "

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in several subject areas including biography, business, education, history, literature, medicine, and social sciences.
Collection Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions). Not included in OneSearch.
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)

Archer Library

Children's Literature • Genres: Genre Resources

Looking at Genres

Children's Lit Genres: AU Circulating

eBook Collections

Select eBooks

Explore eBook Collections

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.