The library’s juvenile collection (children’s books) is located on the second floor, outside of the IRC on the west side of the library. This area includes the entire children’s literature collected works including fiction and non-fiction, picture books, big books, young adult and graphic novels.
About the Collection
Juvenile books are cataloged using the Library of Congress classification system; call numbers begin with a letter (A – Z) and all subjects/topics are cataloged as MAIN juvenile. The end of each stack includes a sign detailing the range of titles located within a particular row.
Collection overview signs are located on the end of each stack featuring frequently requested course related topics (alphabet books, poetry).
Caldecott & Newbery Awards
Caldecott and Newbery award titles are located adjacent to the book kit collection. Call number indicate the year each book won the award and books in each section are shelved by year. There are at least two copies of each title; one located in this section and a second within the regular collection (LC call number).
Library Circulation: Books in the juvenile collection circulate for a period of 21 days with six (6) renewals. All juvenile collection items are checked at the main circulation desk.
New Books Shelf
New juvenile books are initially shelved in the new book area; two book shelves located adjacent to the juvenile collection. When helping a user locate titles published in the current year, be sure to consider this area if the book is not in it's usual location. The new book shelf is cleared at the end of each term.
A bulletin board above the new book area highlights recent additions (mostly fiction). Non-fiction new books are featured on a bulletin board inside the IRC.
Big books and book kits are part of the juvenile collection and both include fiction and non-fiction titles. Generally speaking, the big books are large editions of picture books with corresponding interest and readability. A large portion of the book kit collection is leveled (grade and interest).
Big Books
The big book collection is located next to the Book Kits in the middle section of the second floor. Big books are presented in hanging bags and presented numerically with a call number of BigBk. Users checking out big books take the book AND bag.
Leveled Book Kits
Leveled book kits contain six copies of a single title and are shelved numerically with a call number of book kit. Book kits are located between the Biig Books and Caldecott & Newbery award sections. When checking out book kits, the entire red folder circulates. Single pieces of the book kit do not circulate independently.
A Leveled Book Kit LibGuide is provided to help users locate books by title and by level.
Activity Books
Activity books are located adjacent to the curriculum textbook area, located immediately outside of the IRC. They are most often used for activities, bulletin boards, seat work, file folders, and more.
There are six sections of activity books with approximately 909 titles available.
Curriculum Textbooks
K - 12 student and teacher edition textbooks are available in several subject areas. This collection begins immediately after the activity books and continues around the shelving behind the section.
Textbooks are presented by alphabetically by subject (according to LC areas), publisher, and publication date.
Materials kits, or kits, are part of the IRC circulating collection. When viewing these titles in the library catalog, they will have a location code of 'Instructional Resource Center.' The materials kit collection includes puppets, games, flash cards, flannel boards, flannel board stories, globes, calculators, and other items often classified as realia in libraries and curriculum materials centers. Recent additions to this collection include board games for general use
Materials Kits
Kits are located on both sides of the IRC. The collection begins on shelving adjacent to IRC reference and ends on the east side of the IRC near the laminators. Items are shelved numerically by accession; the newest titles have the highest number. Materials Kit call numbers begin with “KIT” and the first item available is KIT 001. Shelves are labeled to make locating and shelving items easier
There is an IRC Pinterest Materials Kit board dedicated to new items added to this collection.