African American National Biography
coverage through 2008
E185.96 .A4466 2008
American National Biography
coverage through 1999
CT213 .A68 1999
Current Biography Yearbook
coverage for 1940-98
CT100 .C8
Dictionary of American Biography
coverage through 1980
E176 .D56
Dictionary of National Biography
coverage through 1990 (UK only)
DA28 .D42
The International Who's Who
coverage for 1962-2002
CT120 .I5
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography
coverage through 1973
CT103 .M27
The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography
coverage through 1984
E176 .N27 1892
Who Was Who
coverage through 2000
DA28 .W65
Who Was Who in America
coverage for 1607-2002
E663 .W55
Who's Who
coverage for 1929-73, 1990, 2002
DA28 .W6
Who's Who in America
coverage for 1938-99
E663 .W56
UNITED STATES
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
by Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2001
PN2277.N5 H57 2000
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion (2nd ed., 4 vols.)
by Ken Bloom
Schirmer Books; Prentice Hall International, 1996-2001
ML128.M78 B6 1996
The Biographical Encyclopaedia and Who's Who of the American Theatre
edited by Walter Rigdon
J. H. Heineman, 1965
PN2285 .R5
The Cambridge History of American Theatre (3 vols.)
edited by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby
Cambridge University Press, 1998-2000
PN2221 .C37 1998
The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville
by Anthony Slide
Greenwood, 1994
PN1968.U5 S37 1994
Enter the Playmakers: Directors and Choreographers on the New York Stage
by Thomas S. Hischak
Scarecrow Press, 2006
PN1998.2 .H596 2006
The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy: A Biographical Dictionary of Major Figures in American Stage History in the Pre-Stonewall Era
edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke
University of Michigan Press, 2005
PN2286.5 .G38 2005
Hollywood Songsters
by James Robert Parish and Michael R. Pitts
Garland, 1991
ML400 .P295 1991
Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary
edited by Alice M. Robinson, Vera Mowry Roberts, and Milly S. Barranger
Greenwood Press, 1989
PN2285 .N65 1989
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3rd ed.)
by Gerald Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2004
PN2220 .B6 2004
Popular American Composers from Revolutionary Times to the Present: A Biographical and Critical Guide (1 vol. + supplement)
compiled and edited by David Ewen
Wilson, 1962
ML390 .E845
Women and Music in America since 1900: An Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
edited by Kristine H. Burns
Greenwood Press, 2002
ML82 .W625 2002
GENERAL
The Encyclopedia of World Theater
Scribner, 1977
PN2035 .E52 1977
The Great Stage Directors: 100 Distinguished Careers of the Theater
by Samuel L. Leiter
Facts on File, 1994
PN2205 .L44 1994
The International Who Is Who in Music
edited by J. T. H. Mize
Who Is Who in Music, 1951
ML105 .I5
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre (3rd ed.)
edited by Phyllis Hartnoll
Oxford University Press, 1967
PN2035 .H3 1967
Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary
edited by John W. Frick and Stephen M. Vallillo
Greenwood Press, 1994
PN2205 .T54 1994
Who's Who in the Theatre (6 editions)
Pitman; Gale, 1947-1981
PN2012 .W5
When searching in online library catalogs for books about a playwright, conduct a SUBJECT search using the playwright's name in reverse order. For example: