Skip to main content

TH 303 American Musical Theatre: Reference Books: Musicals

Use this guide as a starting point for your research project. .

Reference books: Musicals


The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Greenwood Press, 1999
   ML102.M68 H57 1999


The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Greenwood Press, 1995
   ML102.M88 H59 1995


American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion (2nd ed., 4 vols.)
   by Ken Bloom
   Schirmer Books; Prentice Hall International, 1996-2001
   ML128.M78 B6 1996


American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Oxford University Press, 2001
   PN2277.N5 H57 2000


Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (centennial ed., 6 vols.)
   Schirmer Books, 2001
   ML105 .B16 2001


Broadway: Its History, People, and Places: An Encyclopedia
   by Ken Bloom
   Routledge, 2004
   F128.65.T5 B56 2004


Broadway Musicals, Show by Show (5th ed.)
   by Stanley Green
   Hal Leonard, 1996
   ML1711 .G735 1996


Broadway: The American Musical
   by Laurence Maslon
   Bulfinch Press, 2004
   ML1711.8.N3 M37 2004


A Chronology of American Musical Theater (3 vols.)
   by Richard C. Norton
   Oxford University Press, 2002
   ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002


Complete Book of the American Musical Theater: A Guide to More Than 300 productions... (Rev. ed.)
   by David Ewen
   Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1959
   ML1711 .E9 1959


The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 (4 vols.)
   by Roger D. Kinkle
   Arlington House, 1974
   ML102.P66 K55


The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (8 vols.)
   compiled and edited by Colin Larkin
   Muze, 1998
   ML102.P66 G84 1998


The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (2nd ed., 3 vols.)
   by Kurt Gänzl
   Schirmer Books, 2001
   ML102.M88 G3 2001


Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre: An Updated Reference Guide to over 2000 Performers, Writers, Directors, Productions, and Songs of the Musical Stage, Both in New York and London
   by Stanley Green
   Da Capo Press, 1976 
   ML102.M88 G7 1980


Gänzl's Book of the Musical Theatre
   by Kurt Ganzl and Andrew Lamb
   Schirmer Books, 1989
   MT95 .G2 1989


Film It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical
   by Thomas Hischak
   Greenwood, 2001
   PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001


Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical
   by William A. Everett and Paul R. Laird
   Scarecrow Press, 2008
   ML102.M88 E94 2008


The New Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theatre Literature by Voice Type and Song Style (rev. ed.)
   by David P. DeVenney
   Scarecrow Press, 2009
   ML128.M78 D48 2009


The New Grove Dictionary of American Music (4 vols.)
   edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie.
   Macmillan, 1986
   ML101.U6 N48 1986


The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 29 vols.)
   edited by Stanley Sadie
   Grove, 2000
   ML100 .N48 2000


The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television
   by Thomas Hischak
   Oxford University Press, 2008
   ML102.M88 H593 2008


Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers (rev. and expanded 3rd ed.)
   by Steven Suskin
   Oxford University Press, 2000
   ML128.M78 S86 2000


Stage It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Greenwood Press, 1993
   ML102.M88 H6 1993