Skip to main content

ENG 332 Global Cinema/ Eng 315 German Literature in Translation: Internet Sites

ENG_322, english, global, germany, german, cinema, film, multicultural, international, ENG_315

Web Sites on Film-General

Research Institutes

Browse the sites below and look in particular  for links to film prizes, biographies, trailers, reviews and more:

Deutsche Filmakademie  

Deutsches Filminstitut -- DIF

Deutsches Filmmuseum Frankfurt

dffb   one of the first film schools in the former West Germany.

Filmarchiv Austria

Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen (Potsdam) Includes database of links for Film, Television, and Media

Münchner Filmmuseum

The Goethe Institute   Includes an arts section that includes resources on German film.

E-Book Sources on the Web

German Film Web Sites

100 Jahre Kino -Filmgeschichte

Berlinale official site of the Berlin International Film Festival, held annually. Available in both German and English.

cineGraph  facts and background information

The DEFA Film Library   major site for the cinema of the former GDR.

Deutscher Filmpreis German Film Academy. (In German)

Fachbibliographien und Online-Datenbanken (FabiO), Bibliotheksservice Zentrum, Baden-Würtemberg, Links for Film

Filmportal.de  Informationen zu mehr als 74.000 Filmen und 162.000 Personen.

German/Austrian Cinema: A Selected Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library browse a specialized bibliography, if you find a book of interest, check the Duke Catalog for local holdings:

Germany Info - Film  created by the U.S. German Embassy,

German Culture through Film -  Companion website to the book "German Culture through Film,"which you can borrow through OhioLINK.

German Cinema - Wikepedia - information and summary about the major people, eras, and events in German Cinema.

German Film Service & Marketing- national information and advisory center for the promotion of German films worldwide.

The German-Hollywood Connection  contains essays on German films, filmmakers and stars, as well as essays exploring the influence of German film on Hollywood. Includes a list of links to other sites about German cinema.

GermanFlicks.com   -Useful commercial website on German films and directors.  Has a tab specifically designed to help Film Students

Kinofenster.de

Lexikon der Filmbegriffe

Movie Review Query Engine

German Film Web Sites