LibGuides: Dietetics Resources: Find Articles

Inter-library Loan

Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available.

In order to get an article that is not available online in full text you can request the article by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form.

A link to this form can be found on the library website in the right-hand column under Popular Pages.

Finding Articles on Academic Search Complete

Food Science Database

Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Covers twenty-nine key food industry and market reports, as well as tens of thousands of additional articles, benchmarks and best practices in food science and nutrition, selected from trade and industry publications.
Included in OneSearch

Medical Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 4,600 journals.
Some full-text coverage dates back to 1937. Total number of records is approximately three million. Also provides offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content).
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for top biomedical and health journals. These journals contain information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers
Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 20 million citations for biomedical publications in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates covered: 1800s-present. This public resource is not included in OneSearch

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

These databases cover many disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

Consumer Health and Alternative Health

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
CHC is designed to help users gain an overall understanding of key topics across the health and wellness spectrum — from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Includes full text for 250 health reference books and encyclopedias.
Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Collection of health information providing access to full-text consumer health magazines. Includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets and covers a wide variety of subjects.
Database features information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Additionally, with Health Source: Consumer Edition, users have access to current health pamphlets and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, and children’s health.
ALT Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
Also contains hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts. Subject areas include acupuncture, aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy. Dates covered: 1984-present.

Web of Science w/ Tutorial

Web of Science can be challenging to use. Save time. Check out this brief tutorial on doing an advanced search in Web of Science.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Includes the following suite of databases for coverage across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (1990-present); and Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities (1990- present). Dates covered: 1965-present. This database is not included in OneSearch

Archer Library

Dietetics Resources: Find Articles