LibGuides: MFA Creative Writing Resources: Journals & Databases

How to Get a Copy of an Article

In the event that the article is not available in full text from the databases, and we do not have a copy of the journal, then you may order a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan. Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form and the article will be mailed to you free of charge. You may keep the article. This service may take from 3-10 days, so make sure to start your research early.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request

MLA Directory of Periodicals

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore.
The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.

Find Journals by Title

Are you looking for a particular journal?

You can do a quick title search in the library catalog.

Library Catalog Quick Search:

Open Access Database

"The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact." Over 3000 journals are housed at the DOAJ. The journals are either peer-reviewed or editorially monitored.

Article Databases for Literature

In order to access from off campus you will be prompted to log in.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles, essays, and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Humanities International Complete includes 786 journals with searchable cited references, and 1,650 active indexed and abstracted journals of which 1,393 are peer-reviewed.
Humanities with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984.
The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio, and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
It provides a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. Also included are lesson plans and literary study guides plus full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and children's literature.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by MLA, the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages.
Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.

Google Scholar (AU free access to subscription articles)

This searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.

Typically one encounters a fee for accessing articles in Google Scholar or other search engines. However, because of your affiliation with AU and OhioLINK, Google Scholar can directly link you to quality resources . When on campus your search results will immediately indicate if the items are available through OhioLINK.

To show links to OhioLINK Resources from off-campus, you will need to change Google Preferences on your computer.

Directions:

On the Google Scholar page, click "Scholar Preferences." (The link is to the right of the search box.)
In the "Library Links" box, type in "Ohiolink" and click "Find Library."
Put check marks in the boxes that appear:

OhioLINK- Find it with OLinks

Open WorldCat - Library Search

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Save Preferences."
You may now start searching for articles in Google Scholar. If an article is available full-text through one of our subscription databases, you will see a link that says "Full-Text from OhioLINK OLinks"

Google Scholar (or quick search below)

Selected Scholarly Journals

The majority of these journals have been drawn from our databases. You will be prompted to log in after you click on the journal link.

Marvels & Tales
a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts. .
American Literature History (Oxford Press)
"Covering the study of US literature from its origins through the present."
American Scholar
Focuses on American literature, presenting essays on topics relating to literature, authors and poets, and including poetry and book reviews.
Biography
"Biography features stimulating articles that explore the theoretical, generic, historical, and cultural dimensions of life-writing; and the integration of litererature, history, the arts, and the social sciences as they relate to biography."
Camera Obscura
Feminist takes on film, literature, media. Special focus on race studies, queer studies and post colonial studies.
History and Memory
the role of memory in modern and premodern cultures..also the role of oral history and personal narratives...
Journal of Modern Literature
...Widely recognized as the journal of record for modern literature.
Journal of Narrative Theory
JNT publishes essays addressing the epistemological, global, historical, formal, and political dimensions of narrative... .
Literature & Theology
a quarterly peer-review journal, provides a critical non-confessional forum for both textual analysis and theoretical speculation, encouraging explorations of how religion is embedded in culture."
MFS Modern Fiction Series
"Modern Fiction Studies publishes engaging articles on prominent works of modern and contemporary fiction."
Narrative
Narrative's broad range of scholarship includes the English, American, and European novel, nonfiction narrative, film, and narrative as used in performance art.
New Literary History
"...Focuses on theory and interpretation-the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres."
Poetics
Poetics is an interdisciplinary journal of theoretical and empirical research on culture, the media and the arts.
Poetics Today
concerned with developing systematic approaches to the study of literature & with applying such approaches to the interpretation of literary works.
SAQ (South Atlantic Quarterly)
published exclusively in special issues, SAQ is tackling embattled states, evaluating postmodernity's influential writers and intellectuals, and examining a wide range of cultural phenomena.
Small Axe
Small Axe focuses on the renewal of practices of intellectual criticism. It recognizes a tradition of social, political, and cultural criticism in and about regional/disasporic Caribbean.
Wide Angle
"Wide Angle presents some of today's foremost scholarship in film studies and examines a variety of topics ranging from international cinema to the history and aesthetics of film."
The Cambridge Quarterly
The Cambridge Quarterly is a journal of literary criticism which also publishes articles on cinema, the visual arts, and music.

Archer Library

MFA Creative Writing Resources: Journals & Databases