Skip to main content

ACCESS & AU International Students: Find Articles

Occupational Outlook Handbook

This is a guide from the US Dept. of Labor with career information about hundreds of occupations!  It's a book in an electronic format.

Interlibrary Loan

Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available.  In order to get an article that is not available online in full text you need to complete the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form.  Some article citations in the databases will link to the interlibrary loan form or you can find the form on the library website under Quick Links. 

Article Databases

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.  We subscribe to over 100 databases on almost every topic.  Doing a search on the Web will not always allow you to access good, scholarly information that you are expected to use for college-level research.

The first step to finding relevant research articles is determining which databases are most useful for your topic. A good starting place is Academic Search Complete (EBSCO database).  This is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with many Full-Text articles.

  • Can limit to peer-reviewed journals.
  • Can add other EBSCO databases to your search using the Choose Databases link at the top of the page.
  • Articles may be available in full text via HTML or PDF formats.
  • If there isn't a link to the full text, clicking on Find It may provide a link to full text in another one of our databases.

Databases in Languages other than English

A few useful databases

Current Event Databases

CQ Rsearcher

 

Education Databases

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)

Education Full Text (EBSCO)

 

Business Databases

Business Source Complete  (EBSCO)

LexisNexis Academic

 

Nursing Databases

 CINAHL Plus (EBSCO)

 

Social Science Databases

PsycInfo (EBSCO)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

SocINDEX (EBSCO)


Science Databases

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI)

 Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCO)

Off-Campus Access

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in.  The login screen for our library looks something like this. (NOTE: this is just an illustration)