LibGuides: SW230 Global Human Rights & Social Justice: Journals & Databases

Selected Journals

Feminist Africa
This forum for feminist intellectual dialogue and gender research on the African continent is a publication of the African Gender Institute. It is currently hosted by the University of Cape Town.
Health Care for Women International 1997-2008
JENDA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies
Articles from 2000-2008 are free.
Journal of International Women's Studies
an on-line, open-access, peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for scholars, activists, and students to explore the relationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing.
African Journal of Reproductive Health
Human Rights: Journal of the Section of Individual Rights & Responsibilities
1990 to present
Published by: American Bar Association
Human rights quarterly
Harvard human rights journal
From 2005. Also from 1993 in Lexis Nexis database.
Transformation: Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa
Political Geography
Tropical Medicine & International Health

Inter-library Loan

Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available.

In order to get an article that is not available online in full text you can request the article by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form . A link to the form is frequently included beneath the citation in the list of article results. A link to the form can also be found on the library website under Quick Links.

Annual Reports

Find Articles in Databases

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.

The list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format.
Don't forget to click on . Find It shows if the journal is available in the AU library, may provide a link to full text of the article in a different database, and will provide assistance in reformatting the citation APA or MLA style.
The EBSCO brand databases allow you to limit your results to peer -reviewed publications.

Databases

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations, and more.
Access to more than 921,000 records, thousands of links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web, and hundreds of links to carefully selected and important websites. Dates covered: 1930s-present (plus some older content).
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Dates covered: 1964-presentIncluded in OneSearch
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides extensive coverage on global political topics.
Contains full text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracting for over 2,900. PSC also provides over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Included in OneSearch
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database of bibliographic records for materials related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Included in OneSearch
Social Sciences Citation This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 2,470 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Updated weekly. A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Dates covered: 1965-present This database is not included in OneSearch
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 900 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965.
Also provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and problems. Subject areas include therapy, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil rights, and more. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers. Dates covered: 1960-present. Included in OneSearch
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Abstracts more than 1,300 core journals as well as 3,350+ additional journals. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Also features over 25,000 author profiles per the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. Dates covered: 1903-present. Included in OneSearch
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure. Dates covered: 1930-present. Included in OneSearch

Databases from Related Disciplines

APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).
AtlaSerialsPlus This link opens in a new window
Online full-text collection of over 220 major religion and theology journals.Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Topics covered include (but are not limited to): the Bible; archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; theology and ethics. Dates covered: 1908-present. Not included in OneSearch.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 4,600 journals.
Some full-text coverage dates back to 1937. Total number of records is approximately three million. Also provides offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content).
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, secondary education, higher education, and distance education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC), the world's largest source of education information, contains abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. ERIC currently boasts more than 1.3 million bibliographic records plus links to more than 323,000 full-text documents. Dates covered: 1966-present.
Health Source Nursing/ Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
It provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for top biomedical and health journals. These journals contain information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers
Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology database containing full text from 400 journals, with total journal/magazine coverage exceeding 560.
Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 300 full-text journals and magazines. Subject areas include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, and epistemology plus a full range of philosophical studies.
Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content) Included in OneSearch

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

These datbases cover many disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

Regional databases

Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
Subjects include arts and humanities, cultural heritage, economic affairs, business and industry, ethnic diversity and anthropology, international relations, political affairs and law, archaeology, and society and social welfare. Content includes 250 active indexed and abstracted journals, and 231 active peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals (EBSCO).
Central & European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. Covers academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, and law
Also includes library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region

Archer Library

SW230 Global Human Rights & Social Justice: Journals & Databases