Research Databases - SMG 161 - Introduction to Sport, Recreation, and Leisure

Databases--Sport Sciences

SPORTDiscuss with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes 622 active indexed and abstracted journals. 501 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects covered include athletic training, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, orthopedics, physical education, physical therapy sociology of sports, sport psychology, sports injuries and rehab, sports management, and sports sciences.

Databases--Education

ERIC [Public Website]
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a freely accessible online digital library providing unlimited access to more than 1.6 million bibliographic records for education resources, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. Some links to full text are included; for fuller access to full text use ERIC in the EBSCO interface or use OneSearch.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes a selection of active full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
ERIC also includes an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,800 terms. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

Databases--General (multidisciplinary)

These databases cover many fields, including those relevant to sport sciences.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

Databases--Health Sciences

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 4,600 journals. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also includes an expanded version of the CINAHL® index including more records, additional journals, records and expanded content.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. This database also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for top biomedical and health journals. These journals contain information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers
Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

Databases--Social Sciences

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, marketing and beyond. Content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis, and country economic reports.
Business Source Complete provides access to 1,825 active full-text journals. It includes rigorous curation and indexing of OA journals, 1,310 journals with searchable cited references, and Ahead of Print content for relevant titles from key publishers.
APA Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content).

Archer Library

SMG 161 - Introduction to Sport, Recreation, and Leisure: Research Databases

Databases--Sport Sciences

Databases--Education

Databases--General (multidisciplinary)

Databases--Health Sciences

Databases--Social Sciences

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.