LibGuides: Art Resources: Articles, Journals & Databases

Article databases--Art and architecture

These databases are specific to art and/or architecture.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an array of international peer-selected publications. Includes coverage of Latin American, Asian, and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism
Resource indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Topics covered include (but are not limited to) advertising art, antiques, architecture, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, textiles, and video. Dates covered: 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes approximately 600 art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Offers broad coverage of art topics, including (but not limited to) advertising, graphic arts, decorative arts, industrial design, interior design, fashion design, textiles, antiques, and architecture. Dates covered: 1929-1984
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines, and trade publications.
Also includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Dates covered: 1937-present.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

These databases cover many disciplines and will include resource that touch on art related topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
America History & Life This link opens in a new window
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
Also includes citations for and links to book reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and occurrences. Dates covered: 1950s-present.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical coverage of more than 660,700 individuals including 380,000+ full-text articles plus 35,400+ images.
Documents include biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries. Included in OneSearch
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

Interlibrary Loan

Databases frequently provide full text of the articles they list, but for many cited articles full text will not be directly available in the library databases. When you don't see a path to full text you can request a copy of the article through interlibrary loan.

To request an article submit an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form, You can find a quick link to Interlibrary Loan on the library main page. In some databases each citation without full text has a link to a request form that will auto-fill the bibliographic information, making it especially easy to place a request.

Whichever way you request an article, please allow ten days to receive it. Many articles arrive within a day or two, but some take longer. Because the library incurs a cost in getting articles (though they are free to you), we ask that you not request articles that will not be useful if not received promptly.

Archer Library

Art Resources: Articles, Journals & Databases

Article databases--Art and architecture

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.