LibGuides: Art Resources: E-books

AU ebook collections

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or ebooks, available for student use. Read ebooks immediately on your computer or mobile device, or create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

Locate ebooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Full text searching can be done in the ebook collections as well. Ebook collections are included in the list of databases on the library web site.

The OneSearch Basics library guide includes two tutorials for locating ebooks in the Archer Library and OhioLINK collections.

ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in numerous subject areas.
Encompasses the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions), with an overall total of half a million documents. Not included in OneSearch.
MIT Press Direct: eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press; browse the full collection or view subject specific collections. E-books are DRM-free, downloadable as chapter PDFs, with no simultaneous user limit.
Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
EBC contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of important scholarly ebooks from Oxford University Press
Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Works purchased by OhioLINK include titles in the subject collections of Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)

Examples of some of our e-books

Art reference e-books

Use reference books (print or electroinic) when you need just a basic overview of a topic. They're especially useful for discovering the key concepts and search words to use in further research.

Archer Library

Art Resources: E-books

AU ebook collections

Examples of some of our e-books

Art reference e-books

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.