Today we will be exploring four databases chosen from Archer Library’s A to Z Database list and OneSearch, a comprehensive search tool that facilitates access to select Archer library resources using a single search box. We will be using a modified Jigsaw activity.
The purpose of this activity is to strategically explore selected databases and evaluate their use as an information resource for your research.
Databases are often described as an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. Some database, such as ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center from the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) are open for the public to use. However, it is important to remember not all content public databases is free to view.
Databases are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to find credible information. Archer Library, through OhioLINK, has purchased access to a collection of research databases; content is available to the university community. These databases are proprietary resources requiring users to authenticate - or login - from off campus locations.
OneSearch is a comprehensive search tool that facilitates access to almost all of Archer library's resources using a single search box. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak, allowing users to identify resources - books, e-books, and articles - without having to choose a single databases or the library catalogs. OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is useful for locating information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.
The four library databases selected for this activity are:
We will be working in five groups of five (or four) students, depending on class size. Research topics were determined by your professor for your assignment. Database and topic assignments are detailed in the table below.
|1||OneSearch||Word Work Strategy|
|2||Academic Search Complete||Writing Workshop Strategy|
|3||Education Research Complete||Comprehensive Strategies in an Interactive Read-Aloud|
|4||Education Full Text||CLOSE Reading Strategy|
|5||ERIC - EBSCO||Anticipation Guide / Book Talk|
Questions have been designed to help manage the search process; numbers are assigned each question. Every student in the group is responsible for answering one question. Remember, these questions provide a framework that will help you strategically explore your database and evaluate its use as an information resource for your project.
|1||What type of results did you find? Were there books, articles, newspapers, and or reviews? How did you determine result type?|
|2||Is there any way to modify your search results? Can you choose a particular type of item? Are you able to look for a date range to find more recent resources?|
|3||Does the database have full-text articles? How can you tell? What steps did you take to locate full-text?|
|4||Is there a way to manage your results? Can you download, print, or email the article? Can you save the article to view later?|
|5||Are you able to easily locate information needed to cite the article for your research? Does the database provide any help with this task?|
Follow the steps outlined below to evaluate your database. It's as easy as one, two, three.
Each group will determine a term - a keyword - used to search for their assigned topic. You may choose to enter your topic as is, or craft one you feel better suits your group project.
Use the selected search term - aka conduct a keyword search - and explore the assigned database. Each member is tasked with answering their assigned question (1,2,3,4, or 5) and sharing results with their group. Use the activity worksheet for individual answers; use the group whiteboard for collaboration.
Review your groups results. Discuss and determine if the database supports your research. Is it a good information resource for your assignment?
Use your groups whiteboard to respond to these prompts:
Once you have come to a decision, each group will share their results the class. Informal presentations will last no more than 3 minutes.
Check back here at the end of the Jigsaw instruction session to view photos of each group's database evaluation whiteboard.
Select resources supporting this session.
Handouts will be provided during the session. Feel free to download a copy to use later.