This is the "Welcome " page of the "Children's Literature Topics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature Topics   Tags: childrens_literature, childrens_literature_topics, education, folklore, juvenile_books  

Use this guide for help locating juvenile books by subject; view resources developed for arts, exceptionalities, holidays, math, the environment and health.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ashland.edu/lit-topics Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome  Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Children's Literature Topics Page

Juvenile collectionWelcome to the Children's Literature Topics LibGuide!

This guide is a starting place for information about AU Library's juvenile collection and how to locate desired topics and subjects. A growing resource, it currently includes juvenile book resources for math, special education, folklore, and art, dance, theater and music.

Juvenile books, including big books and book kits, are located on the second floor or AU Library directly outside of the Instructional Resource Center.

 

Juvenile Collection Overview: Library of Congress

Juvenile fiction falls under the Library of Congress subject heading P, language and literature; specifically PZ for general juvenile fiction. Juvenile non-fiction titles is classes within the topic area of it's regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). Below is a quick guide resource for popular subject headings within language and literature.

Interested in learning more about Library of Congress Classification?
Visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline web site.

Class P Language & Literature
Subclass Description
PE English Language
1155 Alphabet Books
1591 Juvenile Thesaurus
1628 Juvenile Dictionaries
 
PN Literature (General)
6110 Poetry Anthology
6371 Riddles
6727 Graphic Novels Categorized for YA Readers
 
PR English Literature
Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
 
PS American Literature
Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
 
PZ Fiction & Juvenile
PZ 5 Collections
PZ 6 Early to 1860 / 1870
PZ 7 General Juvenile Fiction
Alphabetical by author last name, then book title
PZ 7.5 Novels in verse
PZ 7.7 Graphic Novels Categorized for Young Readers
PZ 8 Fairy Tales
PZ 8.1 Folklore, Legends, Romance
PZ 8.2 Fables
PZ 8.3 Stories in Rhyme, Nursery Rhymes
PZ 10.3 Animal Stories
PZ 23 Languages, French
PZ 73 Languages, Spanish

 

 

Search the Catalog: Juvenile Collection

Ashland University Library Catalog

Use the library catalog to locate books in Ashland University Library's juvenile collection. Start with a keyword search on your topic and limit the results to "AU Juvenile." This will provide you with a starting point.

AU Library Catalog:


OhioLINK Catalog


Not finding what you need in our library's juvenile collection? Search for holdings in the OhioLINK catalog using the same beginning search strategy. 

OhioLINK Catalog:

 

 

IRC: Curriculum Librarian

schrecker avatarDiane L. Schrecker, MLIS
Curriculum Librarian
LibGuide Profile

IRC: 419-289-5406
Office: 419-207-6404
dschreck@ashland.edu
 


Instructional Resource Center
Ashland University Library
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805

 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC email IRC Web

 

IRC Reference

This collection features indexes, directories, and bibliographies to help locate books on specific subject areas.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip