LibGuides: EVS 476 Environmental Issues: Databases

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 domestic and international newspapers, including USA Today, Washington Post, and Times (London). Contains selective full text for 370 regional domestic newspapers, Ohio included. Also contains full-text tv and radio news transcripts.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary database with full-text coverage of over 8,800 periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
OhioLINK's collection of more than 10,000 academic journals.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects. Full text coverage begins with the first issue of each journal and usually ends about five years before the present.

Inter-library Loan

Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available.

In order to get an article that is not available online in full text you can request the article by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form. A link to the form is frequently included beneath the citation in the list of article results. A link to the form can also be found on the library website under Quick Links.

Ecology Databases

GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Web of Science (ISI)
ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects. includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline.
Environment Complete includes 1,496 active indexed and abstracted journals. 1,361 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects Include Ecosystem ecology, Energy
Environmental law, Environmental policy, Environmental technology, Geography, Marine and freshwater science, Natural resources, Pollution and waste, management, Renewable energy sources, Social impact of the environment, and Urban planning

Botany Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations: journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Database encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (EBSCOhost).
Garden, Landscape, & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
This Index is a unique bibliographic database for gardening enthusiasts, professionals and horticulture students. It provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering gardening topics and offers a special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
It offers indexing and abstracts for many titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups and includes many titles not available in any other index. Subjects Include Botany, Ecology, Garden and landscape design and history, Garden management, Horticulture therapy, Horticulture, and Plant and garden conservation.

Select Journals

These are just a few of the electronic journals available through the AU Library.

Use the databases to find articles in these and other journals.

Archer Library

EVS 476 Environmental Issues: Databases