Skip to main content

* Chemistry Research: Databases

This guide is a starting point for research in the field of Chemistry. Resources include database recommendations, reference selections, catalog search tips, and internet resources.

Journal Title Abbreviations

The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. This free resource can be used to quickly and easily look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.  You will first be asked to agree to CASSI's terms of use.

Off-Campus Access

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in.  The login screen for our library looks something like this. (NOTE: this is just an illustration)  

Chemistry Databases

Other Recommended Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

These databases cover multiple disciplines. 

ChemWeb

This is an organization database, not an AU Library subscription database.

 

ChemWeb members now have access to selected full-text articles from Chemistry publishers, including Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Taylor & Francis, among others. Members can download a selection of articles covering a broad range of topics direct from the pages of some of the most respected journals in Chemistry. Explore some of the latest research or highly cited articles. If you are not a ChemWeb member, you can register for your free membership now

Journal Abstracts  from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others  covering over 500 journals can be searched and accessed for free.  Search by title and issue or use Journal Search for full-text search of abstracts across all journals. 

SciFinder Registration

To get access to SciFinder you will need to register for a SciFinder account. You must be on campus to register, but after registering you will be able to work with SciFinder from off campus.

Web of Science Tutorial

 

Save time. Check out this brief tutorial on doing an advanced search in Web of Science.    (6 min. 14 sec.)

Web of Science is a powerful article citation index that creates connections between research papers, conference proceedings, and more.  Use Web of Science to follow current trends and patterns in multiple fields of academic research and find resources for your own research.