Skip to main content

Ashland Theological Seminary Library

Website and research guide for Ashland Theological Seminary students. We are a Graduate Division of Ashland University.

ATS Ashland Special Collection - Brethren Resources
Here in Ashland we offer several special collections regarding the Brethren denomination. These are listed below.

Seminary Library Brethren Collection
The ATS Seminary Library has a dedicated room for Brethren materials. Click here for a library catalog listing of Brethren materials available in the Brethren Collection room. Note: Anything in the collection will be marked "SEMINARY Brethren Collection", but materials may also be marked as existing in other locations when we have duplicates.

 

Brethren Digital Archives
The Mission of the Brethren Digital Archives is to digitize some or all of the periodicals produced from the beginning of publication to the year 2000 by each of the Brethren bodies who trace their origin to the baptism near Schwarzenau, Germany in 1708. Click here for access to all digital collections, and click any item within a collection to view it.

 

Brethren Historical Library and Archives
Housed in the Church of the Brethren National Offices, immediately next to our seminary campus, the Brethren Historical Library and Archives is the official repository for Church of the Brethren publications and records. Learn more by checking out their home page or by visiting this listing of their collection, then plan your next visit!

ATS Cleveland Library Resources

Printable PDF for ATS Cleveland students about OhioLINK and available library resources: click here

Grasselli Library and Breen Learning Center at John Carroll University
ATS Cleveland students may use John Carroll University as a reference and research library. Because of our membership within OhioLINK, students may check out items from this library and also request items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. As long as you have your AU ID and the barcode has been logged in our system, this type of circulation is possible. Click here for a Google Map page for this library, and click here for their library homepage. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

Clara Fritzsche Library at Notre Dame College
The Clara Fritzsche Library at Notre Dame College is another resource that ATS Cleveland students can use for theological reference and research. Notre Dame is also part of OhioLINK, so as long as you have your AU ID and the barcode has been logged into our system, you are able to check out items from this library and request items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. Click here for a Google Map regarding the library, and click here for their library homepage. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University
The Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University participates in OhioLINK, so any ATS student with an active AU ID is able to check out books and materials from here, as well as send items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. While not a theological library, Cleveland State University does have several programs related to counseling, and so the variety of resources for counseling may be beneficial for you. Click here for a Google Map regarding the library, and click here for their library home page. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

Spiritual Library of Reverend Dagmar Celeste at the Hildegard Haus
‚ÄčThis spiritual library of the Reverand Dagmar Celeste was recently moved from Kelley's Island to the basement of the church at the Hildegard Haus in Fairport Harbor, Ohio. The library is open to the public, though hours are limited to 12 pm - 6 pm Monday, before and after Sunday liturgies, and by appointment through contacting the Reverend Dr. Sterringer. An online catalog is planned to be made available, and the Hildegard Haus also has a case of signed biographies of Reverend Dagmar Celeste for $15 each. Click here for a Google Map of the Hildegard Haus location, click here for the official website of the Hildegard Haus, and click here for a brief introduction to Hildegard of Bingen.

 

Northeast Ohio's OhioLINK Libraries
While the libraries listed above are great resources for students, there are many more OhioLINK libraries in central Ohio that also may be used for research, circulation, and OhioLINK transactions. Click here for a listing of all participating OhioLINK libraries within Northeast Ohio. Each institution can be clicked on to view location, contact information, hours, and a library website.

 

Cleveland Digital Public Library
The Cleveland Digital Public Library is a department within the Cleveland Public Library that aims to digitize and preserve the history of Cleveland, Northeast Ohio, and beyond. Click any of the following links for access to more information:

Cleveland Digital Public Library Gallery (view all the digital collections)

Congregations of Cleveland (a collection focusing on worship and religion in Northeast Ohio)

Cleveland Public Digital Library webpage

 

Cleveland Public Library System
Click here for a map of all branches within the Cleveland Public Library System. Find one close to you for a study space, resource room, and connections with librarians who can help you find what you need.

 

The Story of God Bible Commentary Series
If you are a Cuyahoga County resident, you may access electronic versions of The Story of God Bible Commentary series via the Cuyahoga County Public Library. Simply click the link and use your library card/account to log in to check out one of these e-commentaries.

ATS Columbus Library Resources

Printable PDF for ATS Columbus students about OhioLINK and available library resources: click here

A.T. Wehrle Memorial Library at Pontifical College Josephinum
ATS Columbus students may use the A.T. Wehrle Memorial Library as a reference and research library, and, because of our membership within OhioLINK, may also check out items from this library and request items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. As long as you have an active AU ID with the barcode logged in our system, this circulation of PCJ materials is possible. Click here for a Google Map regarding this library, and click here for their library homepage. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

John W. Dickhaut Library at Methodist Theological Seminary of Ohio
ATS Columbus students may use MTSO's Dickhaut Library as a reference and research library, and, because of our membership within OhioLINK, may also check out items from this library and request items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. As long as you have an active AU ID with the barcode logged in our system, this circulation of MTSO materials is possible. Click here for a Google Map page for this library, and click here for their library homepage. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

Hamma Library at Trinity Lutheran Seminary at Capital University
ATS Columbus students may use Hamma Library because of our membership within OhioLINK, and may also check out items from this library and request items via OhioLINK to be picked up here. As long as you have an active AU ID with the barcode logged in our system, this circulation of Hamma Library materials is possible. Click here for a Google Map page regarding this library, and click here for their library homepage. If you need to add/activate your AU ID barcode to your account, you may contact Daniel O'Brien at 419-289-5146. Please have your AU ID ready when you call.

 

Central Ohio's OhioLINK Libraries
While the libraries listed above are great resources for students, there are many more OhioLINK libraries in central Ohio that also may be used for research, circulation, and OhioLINK transactions. Click here for a list of these libraries. Each institutional link goes to Google Maps information with the address, directions, phone contact, website, hours, and more.

 

Columbus Metropolitan Library System
Click here for a map of all branches within the Columbus Metropolitan Library System. Find one close to you for a study space, resource room, and connections with librarians who can help you find what you need.

ATS Detroit Library Resources

Wayne State University Libraries and Purdy/Kresge Library Borrowing
1. MI Library Card Borrowing Program: Wayne State University Libraries participates in the MI Library Card Borrowing Program with other libraries across the state of Michigan. If you have an active library card from any of these participating institutions, the resources of other participating libraries, including Wayne State University, are available for you to check out as per their Guest Borrowing Guidelines.

2. MeL Visiting Patron Program: If you have a library card to a participating MeL "Visiting Patron" library, you can visit other MeL participating library locations to borrow materials directly from their shelves. For more information on "Visiting Patron" libraries, click here. Wayne State University participates in this Visiting Patron Program.

3. MeL Reciprocal Borrowing Program: Wayne State University is also part of MeL's Reciprocal Borrowing Program. If you are a member of a participating MeL library, you may use MelCat to request items from over 445 participating libraries within Michigan, including Wayne State University. See "MeL" below for more information.

Purdy/Kresge Library at Wayne State University: The Purdy/Kresge Library offers many resources for religious, theological, and counseling studies. This particular library is located at 5265 Cass Avenue, Detroit, Michigan, 48202. Click here for a Google Map with more information, and click here for a direct link to the webpage for the Purdy/Kresge Library.

Printable PDF for ATS Detroit Students about WSU, Purdy/Kresge, and MeL borrowing: Click here.

 

Detroit Baptist Theological Seminary Library
The Detroit Baptist Theological Seminary Library offers a one-year membership for visiting guests for a $25.00 fee. This membership includes the ability to check out circulating books, access to reference works and periodicals, and the ability to request up to 3 interlibrary-loan items per year. They are located at 4801 Allen Road, Allen Park, Michigan, 48101. Click here for a Google Map with more information, and here for contact information and the library webpage.

 

Detroit Public Library System
Click here for a listing and a map of all branches within the Detroit Public Library System. Find one close to you for a study space, resource room, and connections with librarians who can help you find what you need. Click here if you would like to search their catalog for materials.

 

MeL

Michigan students may benefit from all services offered by the Michigan eLibrary.

The Michigan eLibrary, or MeL, is a service of the Library of Michigan. It is supported by the State of Michigan as well as by federal funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. It provides databases, library materials, and electronic resources to any Michigan resident. You can visit this link for a comprehensive listing of all libraries and branches that participate in the MeL program, or view the MeL Interactive Map by clicking the link below.
MeL Interactive Map: click here