Skip to main content

Nursing DNP: Doctorate of Nursing Practice: E-books

Searching for E-Books

Use the AU Library OneSearch on the Library home page to find eBooks.  (Most of our AU eBook subscriptions are not in the AU or OhioLINK catalogs.)

Follow the 4 steps below  to retrieve eBooks. 


STEP 1

Simply click on the Search button without entering a search.

 


STEP 2

On the next page, scroll to the bottom corner to the heading for Location and check off the box for AU Library Catalog, ELECTRONIC COLLECTION. Then type your search terms in the search boxes at the top of the page and click SEARCH.

 


STEP 3

 On the next page of results, use the left sidebar to Refine Search.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go to Source Type.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you don't see eBooks listed as a Source Type, click on Show More.


STEP 4

Check off eBooks and then click Update.

 


 The list of results will include AU Library eBooks, OhioLINK eBooks, and a few other electronic publications such as government documents. Look for a link that reads eBook Full Text or Connect to resource.   (You will need to log in if you have not already done so.)

  

 

National Library of Medicine E Books

Bookshelf from National Library of Medicine

The Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Other AU eBook Collections

Not all of our eBook collections are included in OneSearch and some do not appear in the catalog.  Go directly to the collections by selecting them from the list of databases on library web site.

Safari Books Online -This will be useful for finding e-books on informatics or other technological issues. 

Oxford Scholarship Online-The titles to which we have access can be discovered in the OhioLINK catalog or you may search the database.  We have limited access to Oxford's titles, so it is more efficient to enter your search and then select the options for Free Text or Unrestricted from the column on the left of the page of search results. 

OhioLINK Scholarly & Reference Collection- The titles to which we have access can be discovered in the OhioLINK catalog or you may search the database.  Includes books from 

  • ABC-CLIO:  encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical collections, guides
  • Gale: reference books published by Thomson Gale plus others 
  • Oxford University Press: important scholarly books, both classic and newly-published works, in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Sage: encyclopedias and reference handbooks, mainly in the social sciences.
  • Springer: high-quality scientific, technological and medical books.