Skip to main content

* MFA Creative Writing Resources: RSS Feeds & Other Good Stuff

This guide Is a starting point for locating information and for researching literary topics.

Keeping Up

From any EBSCO database such as MLA International Bibliography, Literary Reference Center. Humanities International Complete, or Academic Search Complete, you may set up a free account.

 To set up a free account with EBSCO, click on Sign In on the top tool bar of any EBSCO database and follow the easy steps.  

 With an EBSCO account you may:

  • Save your research in folders
  • Share your folders with others or access them from other locations
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds to let you knowwhen new articles about your topic are published
  • Access to your saved from other locations or other EBSCO databases.

 

 

 

 

Pimping the Dictionary

The updated New Oxford American Dictionary includes new words, phrases and adaptations, many evolving from American slang and social media. Some recent additions:

big media n. [treated as sing. or pl.] the main means of mass communication (i.e., television, radio, and the press), as opposed to blogs or other personal websites.

bromance n. informal a close but nonsexual relationship between two men.
– ORIGIN early 21st cent.: blend of brother and romance.

defriend v. another term for unfriend.

eggcorn n. a word or phrase that results from a mishearing or misinterpretation of another, an element of the original being substituted for one that sounds very similar or identical (e.g., tow the line instead of toe the line).
– ORIGIN early 21st cent.: with reference to a misinterpretation of acorn.

exit strategy n. a preplanned means of extricating oneself

pimp informal make (something) more showy or impressive.

Click below to see more from the Oxford University Press Blog

New Poet Laureate, Philip Levine

 

June 12, 2014

Librarian of Congress Appoints Charles Wright Poet Laureate

Librarian of Congress James H. Billington today announced the appointment of Charles Wright as the Library’s 20th Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry for 2014-2015.

Wright will take up his duties in the fall, opening the Library’s annual literary season with a reading of his work at the Coolidge Auditorium on Thursday, September 25.

"Charles Wright is a master of the meditative, image-driven lyric," said Billington. "For almost 50 years his poems have reckoned with what he calls ‘language, landscape, and the idea of God.’ Wright’s body of work combines a Southern sensibility with an allusive expansiveness, for moments of singular musicality."

Wright succeeds Natasha Trethewey as Poet Laureate. She said, "I am delighted by the appointment of Charles Wright, a poet whose work I have long admired. His deep and abiding knowledge of poetry—his belief in its power to sustain us—makes him precisely the kind of advocate we need in the post."

Wright joins a long line of distinguished poets who have served in the position, including Philip Levine, W.S. Merwin, Kay Ryan, Charles Simic, Donald Hall, Ted Kooser, Louise Glück, Billy Collins, Stanley Kunitz, Robert Pinsky, Robert Hass and Rita Dove.

More...

 

NYT Books Podcast

 Sam Tanenhaus, editor of the Book Review, talks with authors, editors & critics about new books. 

Loading ...

Paris Review Author Interviews

The Paris Review now provides free access to all of its author interviews. The complete archive of author interviews begins in 1953 with "E. M. Forster, The Art of Fiction No. 1.    The collection can be browsed by name or by decade.

 Paris Review Author Interviews

The library also has a online subscription to the Paris Review in the database Humanities International Complete

and several anthologies of Paris Review stories and interviews in our collection.