Skip to main content

* Chemistry Research: Internet Resources

This guide is a starting point for research in the field of Chemistry. Resources include database recommendations, reference selections, catalog search tips, and internet resources.

Chlorine: Elements of Surprise

From the American Chemical Council, Elements of Surprise.  

"Sure, you know it helps keep your water safe to drink and your pools healthy and clean.

But chlorine chemistry has also transformed your world in ways that may surprise you.

From your medicine cabinet to your dinner table; from your car to the subway; from your cell phone to solar panels; learn how chlorine is the ultimate element of surprise."

F1000 Posters--Open Access

F1000 Posters, an open access poster repository, provides a permanent, structured environment for the deposition of posters as well as a trustworthy venue for ongoing discussion and development of the information being presented.

F1000 Posters enables researchers to maximize the value of their poster by dramatically increasing access and by helping to prevent lengthy delays before others can benefit from new research. The feedback gained by scientists from such early dissemination may help direct future work and also may reduce the duplication of effort between labs and departments, whether by speeding progress towards a similar goal or by preventing the replication of work that has previously failed.

In several surveys of researchers from across life science and medicine, over 85% of the several thousand respondents told us that they would submit their posters to such an open access repository and 95% thought a repository would be useful to them as users. Initial responses from some of the leading publishers and journal editors has also been supportive and many have confirmed that they would not regard deposition of a poster in the repository as prior publication

General Chemistry

Collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
 
Contains links to helpful chemistry resources. From UC Irvine.
 
ChemWeb.com
Provides information resources for chemical research and communication. Combines electronic publishing, databases, journals, and scientific forums, along with informatics technologies for structure-based searching, high-speed text retrieval, and manipulation of "live" molecular structures. (Membership required - Free)
 
General Chemistry Online
Award winning chemistry portal.
 
LibInfo: Chemistry
Contains information on finding chemistry journal articles, books, and information on the web. From the University of Chicago.
 
Chemical information portal. Categories include the Top 5% Chemistry Sites, Software, Databases, Books, Journals, Patents, Jobs, Reactions, Web Publishing, Spectroscopy, Societies, Indices, and Companies.

Sources for Chemicals

  • Aldrich
    Search for chemical information by product name, molecular formula, product number, full text, or CAS Number.

  • Alfa Aesar
    Online catalog consists of all compounds, alloys and pure elements available from Alfa Aesar, including the entire range from their supplemental organics catalog. Search by catalog item #, description, and/or CAS number.

  • Bulk Chemicals Suppliers
    Provides on-line access to data from the report of the U.S. International Trade Commission: "Synthetic Organic Chemicals, United States Production and Sales". This is a valuable source of information for manufacturers and distributors for 5,000 bulk chemicals.

  • ChemWatch    
    • Contains MSDS sheets for over 40,000 pure substances and 85,000 mixtures, drugs, explosives, infectious substances, WMDs, foods, and more in 20 languages.
    • ChemWatch  Collection contains over 1.5 million supplier sheets to supplement the ChemWatch information. Provided by Ohio University's Department of Environmental Health & Safety, which also provides support for the system.
  • ChemBioFinder
    Database of chemical compounds. Search by chemical name, CAS Number, molecular formula, or molecular weight.

  • ChemNavigator.com
    Search by structure through a database of more than 1,000,000 commercially available compounds, supplied from top international chemistry suppliers. Free registration.

  • NIST Chemistry WebBook
    Site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

  • Sigma
    Search for chemical information by product name, molecular formula, product number, full text, or CAS Number.