Skip to main content

* Nursing Resources: Articles, Journals & Databases

Ashland University Library sources for Nursing students and faculty.

Medical Subject (MeSH) Terms

MeSH is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles for MEDLINE/PubMed. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information that may use different terminology for the same concepts. MeSH subject headings are used in the OhioLINK Book Catalog and in the PubMed and Medline article databases. 

 If you do not know a specific heading to search, you may find it more helpful to start with a Keyword search, or use the NLM MeSH Browser to explore available headings.

PubMed or MEDLINE?

What's the Difference Between MEDLINE®, PubMed® and PubMed Central?

  • PubMed Central is an archive of the full-text biomedical journal papers available online without a fee.   
  • MEDLINE is one part of PubMed. Approximately 5,400 journals published in the United States and more than 80 other countries have been selected and are currently indexed for MEDLINE. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).

In addition to MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains:

  • In-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status.
  • Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher).
  • Some OLDMEDLINE citations that have not yet been updated with current vocabulary and converted to MEDLINE status.
  • Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH for MEDLINE.
  • Citations to some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral® and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
  • Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
  • Citations for a subset of books available on the NCBI Bookshelf (a citation for both the book and each chapter or section of the book).
  • Medical Image Databases

    Alternate Database access from off-campus

    Sometimes there are difficulties with accessing databases from off-campus.

    No worries! There is a fast and easy workaround.  Simply log in through OhioLINK, rather than Ashland. Once you have logged in, you can move from database to database.   Use either the basic OhioLINK login or use the second link for OhioLINK nursing databases.

    Nursing Databases

    Medical Databases

     Consumer Health and Alternative Health

    Multi-disciplinary Databases

    Related Databases

    App for CINAHL & other EBSCO brand databases

    There is an app for some of the EBSCO databases, including CINAHL.

    Ebscohost Mobile Access Instructions: 

    Search CINAHL via EBSCOhost Mobile.

    EBSCOhost Mobile includes:

    • Basic Searching
    • HTML and PDF Full Text
    • Search Modes
    • Limiters
    • Image Quick View
    • Image Collection (depending on the database that has been selected)
    • E-mailing articles
    • Preferences
    • Multi-database Searching

    Database Tutorials

    Subject Search or Keyword Search?

    Interlibrary Loan Articles

    We offer free interlibrary loan service  for articles that are not available through our databases.  Interlibrary loan articles will be emailed to you or mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.

    What is a library database?

     What is a library database?

    ·         Library databases are the BEST way to find quality, scholarly articles from journals. Libraries subscribe to article databases so that you don't need to pay for articles as you would for articles you might discover with a Google search.

     

    ·         A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that indexes articles from print sources such as magazines and journals.  Each separate database includes different articles from a different set of journals, although there may be some overlap of articles included in some databases. In order to do a comprehensive search on a topic, you will most likely need to perform searches in several databases.

    ·         In a library article database you can search through thousands of different journals, magazines, and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic.

     

    ·         Even though a database is online, it is not considered an internet source. 

    ·         Library databases are searchable by keyword or by subject terms (precise terms determined by the database).

     

    ·         Some of the database articles are available in Full Text, while others only include an abastract (summary).  When you search for a topic in a database, the resulting list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format. 

     

    ·         Don't forget to click on Find It indicates if the print journal is available in the AU library and it may provide a highlighted link that leads you to the full text of the article in a different database. Find It also provides assistance in reformatting the citation APA or MLA style.

     

    ·         EBSCO is NOT the name of a database. It is the name of one of our many database service providers.  AU Library subscribes to 62 EBSCO brand databases, including the nursing databases CINAHL and Health Source Nursing.