LibGuides: Biology Resources: Article Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.

Biological & Science Databases-General

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates covered: 1800s-present. This public resource is not included in OneSearch
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Science Reference Source offers a variety of features and functionality to support research success and productivity. Categories include Applied Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences. Engineering, Environmental Science, Forensics, Health and Wellness. Mathematics, Paleontology, Physics, Scientists and Innovators, and Space Sciences and Astronomy.

Additional Resources

NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information has cross-database search engine that includes content from PubMed (MEDLINE), PubMed Central, Human Genome, GenBank, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) and other governmental publications.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals
Provides access to 50 ACS journals, with more than 30,000 new articles added every year. The archived backfile (1879-1995) supplements more recent content with its nearly half a million articles.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provide systematic, periodic examinations of scholarly advances in a number of fields of science and social science through critical authoritative reviews. AU's subscriptions generally cover 1996 to 2009.

Web of Science: Essentials Course

Web of Science is a powerful article citation index that creates connections between research papers, conference proceedings, and more. Use Web of Science to follow current trends and patterns in multiple fields of academic research and find resources for your own research.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Includes the following suite of databases for coverage across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (1990-present); and Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities (1990- present). Dates covered: 1965-present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is the world's leading citation database. It contains records of articles from the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals— conference proceedings and books. Coverage of some titles date back to 1900.
The Web of Science Core Collection has ten indexes containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, and conferences.

Need help with Web of Science?

Clarivate Learning provides a series of help videos, recorded webinars, and even library guides. Use these resources for additional help navigating the database.

Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Getting Started with Web of Science
Web of Science Essentials
"New to the Web of Science? Already a user, but want to get even more out of it? This self-guided course covers everything from the fundamental principles that fuel this powerful resource to workflow functionality to enhance your research process."
Web of Science: Users Guide (PDF)
A users guide for researching a field.

Archer Library

Biology Resources: Article Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Biological & Science Databases-General

Additional Resources

Web of Science: Essentials Course

Need help with Web of Science?

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.