Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature • Graphic Novels: Juvenile Collection • Overview

This guide is a starting point for locating graphic novels in the juvenile collection.

Juvenile Collection

Children's Books

The library's juvenile (or children's) collection is located on the second floor. This collection is cataloged and shelved using Library of Congress subject headings; it encompasses board books, picture books, and juvenile through young adult literature, fiction and non-fiction titles.

New books are added to the juvenile collection throughout the academic year. At the beginning of each term, shelves are cleared for new books. Keep up to date with additions to the juvenile and IRC collections via the Instructional Resource Center News & Information Blog.

Collection Organization • Library of Congress

Browsing the Collection

Juvenile fiction falls under the Library of Congress subject heading P, language and literature; specifically PZ for general juvenile fiction. Juvenile non-fiction titles is classes within the topic area of it's regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). To help browse the collection, signs are posted in the stacks.

Below is a quick guide similar to the signs posted in the juvenile stacks. Frequently requested topics (subject headings) for language and literature are noted; graphic novels, PZ 7.7 and PN 6727 are featured in yellow. Be sure to ask in the IRC if you need help locating children's books in the catalog or in the stacks. 


Class P Language & Literature
  Subclass Description
  PE English Language
    1155 Alphabet Books
    1591 Juvenile Thesaurus
    1628 Juvenile Dictionaries
       
  PN Literature (General)
    6110 Poetry Anthology
    6371 Riddles
    6727 Graphic Novels Categorized for YA Readers
       
  PR English Literature
      Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
       
  PS American Literature
      Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
       
  PZ Fiction & Juvenile
    PZ 5 Collections
    PZ 6 Early to 1860 / 1870
PZ 7 General Juvenile Fiction
Alphabetical by author last name, then book title
    PZ 7.5 Novels in verse
    PZ 7.7 Graphic Novels Categorized for Young Readers
    PZ 8 Fairy Tales
    PZ 8.1 Folklore, Legends, Romance
    PZ 8.2 Fables
    PZ 8.3 Stories in Rhyme, Nursery Rhymes
    PZ 10.3 Animal Stories
    PZ 23 Languages, French
    PZ 73 Languages, Spanish

 

Are you interested in learning more about Library of Congress Classification?
Visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline web site.

 

LibGuides & Juvenile Books

LibGuides Home Page screen shot

Children's Literature Library Guides

Check out these LibGuides! They feature information about the juvenile collection.

IRC News Blog

Loading ...