Skip to main content

EDFN 202: Instructional Resource Center

Instructional Resource Center

welcome

Welcome to the IRC!

The Instructional Resource Center is located on the 2nd floor of AU Library.  Our collections support the teaching programs and curriculum of the Dwight Schar College of Education.  This LibGuide - or Library Guide - provides information about resources and collections available to AU students.

 

About the Instructional Resource Center

The IRC circulating collection includes K-12 curriculum textbooks and additional resources such as activity books, manipulative kits, audio books, posters, maps, and leveled book kits.

The second floor is home to the library's juvenile collection featuring picture books, juvenile fiction, juvenile non-fiction, big books, chapter books, graphic novels, young adult fiction and non-fiction

The IRC is a work area for Ashland University students, faculty, and staff, providing resources such as laminating, binding, and several Ellison Die Cut Machines and a library of dies. Available technology resources inside the IRC and on the second floor include computers, scanners, regular and color printing.

Visit the IRC web site for more information.

IRC Collections & Resources

IRC Web Site

 

The Instructional Resource Center web site is your starting point for all things IRC. Here you will find information about IRC hours & updates, Services & Pricing, Ask the IRC chat, and more. The following video overview will take you on a virtual tour of the IRC web site.

 

 

About this video:  Watch on YouTube @ https://youtu.be/bbx_W6Dq_1Y to access topic shortcuts in the video description area. How? Select 'view more,' click on the time link next to a desired topic, and be taken automatically to that point in the video.

Children's Books (Juvenile Collection)

 

The library's juvenile (or children's) collection is located on the second floor. This collection is cateloged and shelved using Library of Congress subject headings; it encompasses board books, picture books, and juvenile through young adult literature, fiction and non-fiction titles.

New books are added to the juvenile collection throughout the academic year. At the beginning of each term, shelves are cleared for new books. Keep up to date with additions to the juvenile and IRC collections via the Instructional Resource Center Blog.

Juvenile fiction falls under the Library of Congress subject heading P, language and literature; specifically PZ for general juvenile fiction. Juvenile non-fiction titles is classes within the topic area of it's regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). Below is a quick guide resource for popular subject headings within language and literature.

Interested in learning more about Library of Congress Classification?
Visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline web site.

 

Class P Language & Literature
  Subclass Description
  PE English Language
  1155 Alphabet Books
  1591 Juvenile Thesaurus
  1628 Juvenile Dictionaries
       
  PN Literature (General)
  6110 Poetry Anthology
  6371 Riddles
  6727 Graphic Novels Categorized for YA Readers
       
PR English Literature
Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
  PS American Literature
  Individual Authors: Poetry, Prose, Drama
   
  PZ Fiction & Juvenile
  PZ 5 Collections
  PZ 6 Early to 1860 / 1870
  PZ 7 General Juvenile Fiction
  Alphabetical by author last name, then book title
  PZ 7.5 Novels in verse
  PZ 7.7 Graphic Novels Categorized for Young Readers
  PZ 8 Fairy Tales
  PZ 8.1 Folklore, Legends, Romance
  PZ 8.2 Fables
  PZ 8.3 Stories in Rhyme, Nursery Rhymes
  PZ 10.3 Animal Stories
  PZ 23 Languages, French
  PZ 73 Languages, Spanish

 

 

Materials Kits (Manipulatives)

 

The materials kits collection includes a variety of manipulatives that may be used in the classroom.  Subject areas of math, science, reading, language arts, social studies, and music are covered.  Within this collection you may find puppets, flash cards, big book stands, flannel boards, games, and globes.

Kits are shelved numerically with a call number of KIT. When checking out a kit, the bar code is on the container (as opposed to each piece) and one kit = one item on your record. All IRC items are checked out via the circulation desk on the library main floor.

Kits are part of the IRC circulating collection with a loan period of one week. You may check your library account online at any time to verify due dates, keep up to date with OhioLINK requests, and renew books.

Visit the IRC @ AU Library Pinterest site to view our most recent materials kits acquisitions.


K-12 Curriculum Textbooks

 

curriculum textbooksBasal readers, language arts K - 12 Curriculum textbooks, are located directly outside of the IRC on the library second floor adjacent to the activity books.

Curriculum textbooks are part of the IRC Collection and circulate for a period of one week. Remember, you may check your library account online at any time to check due dates, keep up to date with OhioLINK requests, and renew books.

 

There a variety of curriculum areas available including:

In some instances, student and teacher editions are available. More recent collections, textbooks published 2010 forward, may include teacher texts only.

Leveled Book Kits

 

What are Book Kits? The Instructional Resource Center (IRC) book kit collection features juvenile (children's) titles selected for use with guided reading. Each kit includes six or more copies of a single title, they are presented in a red expanding folders complete with book covers for easy browsing and information pertaining to recommended reading levels.

How are Book Kits Leveled? Several Book Kits were evaluated by COE education students who recommended appropriate level information. Recent additions to the collection were purchased with leveling information already identified.

Leveling Information: Leveled kits may include the following information: Lexile grade and stage (emergent, early, early fluent and fluent), F & P (Fountas and Pinnell) and Directed Reading Assessment (DRA).

Do Book Kits Circulate? Yes. Book kits are part of the IRC circulating collection.

How are Book Kits organized? Book kit call numbers use "other call number" classification. They are shelved numerically within the collection, each call number includes the label Book Kit followed by a number: Book Kit 049. A complete numerical listing of all book kits in the library catalog may be found here.

 

web siteInterested in Leveled Book Kits? 
Visit the IRC Leveled Book Kit guide for a complete listing of available book kits.

IRC Activity Books

 

activity booksThe IRC has an extensive collection of activity books (900+) covering a variety of curriculum subject areas. They are located on the second floor, adjacent to the K-12 curriculum textbooks.

The activity book collection is shevled alphabetically by topic and subject category, books are kept in labeled magazine files. Activity book call numbers begin with ACTIV followed by the category, year, and grade level where appropriate. It is possible to view an alphabetical listing of all titles in the library catalog using 'other call number' and ACTIV as the search term. 


For ease of use, feel free to take these containers off of the shelves and browse through them at your leisure on the tables in the curriculum textbook annex. Activity books are part of the IRC circulating collection and have a loan period of one week. Remember, you may check your library account online at any time to check due dates, keep up to date with OhioLINK requests, and renew books.


IRC web siteIRC Services & Pricing

The Instructional Resource Center is open to Ashland University students, faculty and staff. We provide resources such as laminating, Ellison Machines, color printing, button makers, and binding. Additionally, a small selection of materials and supplies are available on-site for purchase.

 

Please note the following:

  • IRC staff is prepared to assist users with laminating and binding, however drop-off service for projects is not provided.
  • Roll laminating projects will not be started if there is not time to complete the project during regular operating hours.
  • If using the sheet laminator, IRC supplies must be used. We do not accept outside laminating sheets.
  • IRC color print limit is 25 copies. We recommend contacting Ashland University's Print Services for larger color print jobs.
  • When making buttons, there is a 10 per visit limit. More information is available on this page.
  • Payment for purchases, including account numbers for transfer of funds, is required at point of sale.

Visit the IRC web site for a complete list of currently available equipment, services, and pricing.

Welcome!

Diane S.

Diane Schrecker, MLIS

Curriculum Librarian
Head of the IRC

✉ dschreck@ashland.edu
☏ 419.207.6406

 

Instructional Resource Center
Ashland University Library
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805

✉ irc-aulib@ashland.edu
☏ 419.289.5406

Stay Connected!


 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC Web  irc chat

Take the Poll!

Poll Have you ever visited the IRC, second floor at AU Library?

Yes! I work there all the time.: 0 votes (0%)
Maybe: I've worked on the 2nd floor.: 0 votes (0%)
No: This is new to me.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

IRC News Blog

IRC Blog
 
Loading ...