Skip to main content

Economics 101: Books & Ebooks

Reference Ebooks

OneSearch: Benefits & Search Options

OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is incredibly useful when you just need basic information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.

OneSearch is a great tool when you think you have exhausted all other sources and want to verify you have not overlooked a relevant database or book.

OneSearch will return a large number of results with each initial search. Take advantage of the limit options on the left sidebar of the results screen.

  • Publication Date: Choose a specific year or date range.
  • Source Type: Limit to academic journals, e-books, reviews, etc.
  • Location:  View results AU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK catalog.
  • Publisher or Publication: Limit to a specific publisher or publication.
  • Collection: Select a collection such as OhioLINK music center or ETD
  • Catalogs & Databases: Select a database such as JSTOR or ATLA
  • Subject: Choose from provided subtopics to refine your search

Library Catalogs

Ashland University Library Catalog

AU Library Catalog    


OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK Catalog     
 
About OhioLINK:
  • OhioLINK is a consortium of 90 Ohio  academic libraries.  
  • You may request that books be sent to or you may return to any OhioLINK library near your location.
  • Your library record, including OhioLINK loans, are maintained by the AU Library. Link to My Account on Library home page. View or renew there.
  •  It normally takes 4-5 days for items requested from OhioLINK to arrive at the designated pick-up location. You may return to any OhioLINK library.
  • You will be emailed when OhioLINK requests are ready for you to pick up at the library you designated
  • This service is not used to request articles.

Map of OhioLINK libraries

 

WorldCat Catalog

Includes books and other media in US libraries.  Used only for locating, not requests. Once you have found an item you would like, you have two options...

  • Fill out an interlibrary loan request form. Enter as much information as you can find from the WorldCat record. 
  •  Enter your zipcode to find availability in a library near you.

Search Tips for Library Catalogs & Databases

Keyword Search or Subject Search?

 

1. Keyword Search

Use natural language by typing a word or phrase.

  • Use simple words, not sentences.

  • Put quotes or parentheses around phrases when you want to retrieve all of the  words, in the exact order given. Example: “carbon footprint"

  • You can expand your search by inserting OR between words.   Example: global warming OR climate change

  • You can narrow your search by inserting AND between words. Example: recycling AND economics

  • You can use an to retrieve multiple variants of a word with one  efficient search. Example: communicat* retrieves results with communicate, communicating, communicator, communicates or communication

  • Refine your search Example: (private health care) AND communication

 

2. Subject Search

Library catalogs use specific Library of Congress Subject Headings to classify books. When you search, the words have to be typed in the exact order used by Library of Congress.

  • You will find the assigned Library of Congress Subject Headings listed in each book record. The subject headings in each book record are linked. Once you find a relevant subject heading in a book record, you will discover more books on the topic by clicking on the link.

Article databases also use a controlled vocabulary similar to Library of Congress, but different databases may use different subject terms.

            *Note: You cannot use operators such as AND or OR , nor truncate with an asterisk when doing a subject search.*

Examples of a few subject headings related to dietetics:

Economics Developing Countries

Food-Composition 

Women athletes -- Psychology

Free enterprise -- United States

United States -- Economic policy

Criminal justice, Administration of -- United States

Corrections -- United States

Welfare state -- History

 

 

Carrie Halquist - Reference and Instruction Librarian

Carrie Halquist's picture
Carrie Halquist
Contact:
Ashland University Library
509 College Ave
Ashland, OH
44805
chalquis@ashland.edu
419.289.5427

Why & How

Why Use Books For Research Papers?

Books are excellent sources for researching...

  • Background information (such as people and dates)

  • In-depth information on the topic*

  • History of the topic

  • A general overview of the broader topic*

 
*Books are different from journal articles because they have they option to have much more information contained inside. Sometimes a book on a very specific topic cannot be found, but there may be a chapter on the very specific topic within a book on the broader topic.

How to Use Books

There are tools to help discover what chapters or sections of chapters would be useful. Listed below are four of these tools. Knowing how to use them will save you time and effort, as well as make you a better researcher. 

 

Table of Contents

Located at the front of a book; laying out what the book is discussing. Find the chapter title that connects with your topic. 

Preface, Forward, or Introduction

Learn what the author is trying to prove or the information the author is presenting first. This is a great place to gain basic knowledge on a topic and find keywords. 

Bibliography

Located at the end of the book. (Not all book have bibliographies.) This tool will help you locate the sources the author used to prove his/her point. Look up these resources for more useful information. 

Index

Located at the very end of a book. (Again, not all books include an index.) Look for your topic/keywords in the index. This will guide you to the sections of the book which will be most useful. 

Use the AU Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, or OneSearch to find books and E-books. Remember to write the call number down for print books! If you need assistance, contact your reference librarian:

In-Person

     

 

By Phone: 419.289.5402

              

 

    By Chat   

     

 

By Email