LibGuides: Economics 101: Research Databases

Primary Business Databases

Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.
It also includes more than 600,000 corporate names with references to specific industries and countries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, marketing and beyond. Content includes case studies, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analysis, and country economic reports.
Business Source Complete provides access to 1,825 active full-text journals. It includes rigorous curation and indexing of OA journals, 1,310 journals with searchable cited references, and Ahead of Print content for relevant titles from key publishers.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online offers a wealth of textual detail on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers, and directors. Note: This resources will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas (currently available) and will remain available through June 2025.
It includes financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive U.S. companies and over 300,000 annual reports from globally listed companies. Archived reports for over 10 years are available. Daily updates on confirmed executives from all U.S. traded companies featuring over 150,000 profiles on current and former executives including executive biographies and compensation information are provided.
Wall Street Journal, The This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth coverage of national and international business and finance as well as first-rate coverage of hard news--all from America's premier financial newspaper. Covers complete bibliographic information and also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through the ProQuest database.

Stats Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts of American history; contains statistics from over 1000 sources, with 37,339 separate data series spanning the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences.
Subject areas include history, governance, sociology, demography, natural resources, climate, international migration, and trade. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables/spreadsheets. Dates covered: 1600s-2000s. Not included in OneSearch.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Associates Program Source This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associate’s programs.
Includes alcohol & drug abuse counseling, computer & data processing, criminal justice, fashion design, graphic arts, photography, and veterinary assisting. Identical content to that of Vocational Studies Premier.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Includes 257 active full-text journals not available in any version of Academic Search and 362 journals with searchable cited references.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Database includes 459 active indexed and abstracted journals. 422 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects covered include criminology, criminal justice, criminal investigations, criminal law and procedure, corrections ad prisons, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, police and policing, probation and parole, and substance abuse and addiction.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains records and links to full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
ERIC also includes an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,800 terms. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This resource covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, Green building, Pollution, Sustainable agriculture, Renewable energy, and Recycling.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, and flags. Content includes 1,579 full-text magazines and journals, and 55,000 full-text primary source documents.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Dates covered: 1903-present.
SPORTDiscuss with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes 622 active indexed and abstracted journals. 501 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects covered include athletic training, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, orthopedics, physical education, physical therapy sociology of sports, sport psychology, sports injuries and rehab, sports management, and sports sciences.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment
Legal Collection covers modern legal issues, studies, viewpoints, and trends. It includes 1,212 active indexed and abstracted journals. 1,101 of them are peer-reviewed.