Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Orientation: How to...

Requesting Instruction

Library Instruction

The AU Library will be providing Instruction both in-person and online this semester. In-person instruction will be limited to specific needs. Online instruction can take various forms. We can hold synchronous sessions through Zoom, use pre-recorded sessions, or create video tutorials. Library Guides can also be created for your classes to meet your specific needs. 

To schedule any type of Library Instruction, please contact Carrie Halquist, Reference & Instruction Librarian. 

To request a new Library Guide, please fill out this form

To request an update to an existing Library Guide, please contact the guide's owner.

Blackboard Links

Article Links & Blackboard

USING PERSISTENT LINKS

Most licensing agreements with library database providers permit linking to full-text articles and e-books from online syllabi or course management systems like Blackboard. To be effective the link must be a persistent URL, not the session-specific URL that appears in the address bar of a browser when viewing the full text.

Persistent URLs,  also called permalinks or persistent links, are Internet addresses that remain constant. Because our subscription databases are accessible only on campus or with authenticated login, links that use persistent URLs enable access while protecting copyrighted articles.

A persistent URL in a database record indicates that you have permission to use the link in Blackboard or your online syllabus. Cut and paste the persistent URL from the database record into your Blackboard work form or document.

 

ADDING THE PROXY PREFIX

For a full-text link to work from off-campus locations, the Ashland University proxy server address MUST be prefixed to the persistent URL. Our proxy server address is:

http://proxy.ashland.edu:2048/login?url=


In many of our databases each persistent URL already includes the proxy prefix.  If it doesn't the prefix can easily be added.  Imagine that the persistent URL provided in a database record is:

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=102199156&...


You simply paste the proxy server address to the beginning of the persistent URL. The link you should insert in your syllabus or Blackboard document is:

http://proxy.ashland.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=102199156&site=ehost-live

 

NEED HELP?

We can help you add persistent links to database resources in Blackboard. Ask a Reference & Instruction Librarian (x5402) or the IRC Curriculum Librarian (x5406) for assistance.

Reserves

Reserves

AU library offers course reserves (books, DVDs, or music CDs). Course reserves are located at the library circulation desk, main floor. Instructors placing items on reserve determine length of the reserve period, hours or days, and whether the item may leave the library.

Questions about reserves? 
Please contact Judi Humphrey, Head of Circulation & Reserves, at x5400.

Manage Your Account

Manage Your Library Account

You can renew Library materials, view due dates and check the status of OhioLINK requests through the MY LIBRARY ACCOUNT feature. Logging in requires only your seven-digit Ashland University ID number and your name. Linked access to My LIBRARY ACCOUNT is available as a Quick Link on the Ashland University Library homepage as well as from search pages of the Library's online catalog.