Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Orientation: Resources @ the Library

Databases

The AU Library has access to over 200 unique databases. Some of our major host sites include EBSCO & JSTOR. Access is available to all faculty, staff, & students On-Campus or Off. If accessing off-campus, you will be required to login using your AU username & password. If you are having trouble accessing a database, please contact the Reference Desk (library@ashland.edu) or Technical Services (419.289.5409). 

Database List

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan is a free service available to students, faculty, and staff.  It can be used to request:

  • articles not available through the Ashland University Library's databases or print periodicals collection;
  • books unavailable through OhioLINK or SearchOhio;
  • a copy of a single chapter from a book. Use the Article Request Form for a chapter request.

Borrowing

Journal Lending

Faculty members may borrow hard copies of journals. All journals must be signed out at the Library's Main Desk.

 

Extended Borrowing Periods

Need a book for longer than the traditional borrowing period? Ask at the Main Desk to extend the borrowing period for Ashland University Library books.

Library Catalogs

Ashland University Library Catalog

AU Library Catalog    


Contains materials held by Ashland University Library and Ashland Theological Seminary Library (ATS), including books, periodicals, musical scores, audiovisual material (CDs, DVDs), Instructional Resource Center materials and Ashbrook Center materials. The catalog also includes links to e-books and online journals.

 

OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK Catalog     
 
The catalog provides publication information and indicates where copies are located and whether copies are available for borrowing. Materials can be requested through the OhioLINK Catalog for pickup at the AU Library, the Seminary Library, or at other OhioLINK libraries.
 
About OhioLINK:
  • OhioLINK is a consortium of 90 Ohio  academic libraries.  
  • You may request that books be sent to or you may return to any OhioLINK library near your location.
  • Your library record, including OhioLINK loans, are maintained by the AU Library. Link to My Account on Library home page. View or renew there.
  •  It normally takes up to one week for items requested from OhioLINK to arrive at the designated pick-up location. You may return to any OhioLINK library.
  • You will be emailed when OhioLINK requests are ready for you to pick up at the library you designated
  • This service is not used to request articles.

Map of OhioLINK libraries

 

SearchOhio is a consortium of more than two dozen public library systems in Ohio. Materials can be requested through the SearchOhio Catalog for pickup at the AU Library or at the Seminary Library. Look for links to SearchOhio from the AU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK Catalog.

 

WorldCat Catalog

Includes books and other media in US libraries.  Used only for locating, not requests. Once you have found an item you would like, you have two options...

  • Fill out an interlibrary loan request form. Enter as much information as you can find from the WorldCat record. 
  •  Enter your zipcode to find availability in a library near you.