Contains more than 400 entries that span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. Also includes instructive examples that connect readers to practice, teaching, supervision, and research, cross-referencing of entries, boldfaced important terminology, and suggested resources for further study.
The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling.
The Encyclopedia of Human Relationships offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations—friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Although each of these connections is unique in some respect, they share a common core of principles and processes. These three volumes provide a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.
The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style. The ideas and tools contained in these pages are approachable and can be invaluable for understanding our very technical world and the increasing flow of information. Although there are references that cover statistics and assessment in depth, none provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and accessible a manner as the three volumes of this Encyclopedia. Through approximately 500 contributions, experts provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in these two areas.
Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references.
Contains a broad overview of the central topics and issues in psychopharmacology, biological psychiatry and behavioral neurosciences, with information about developments in the field, including novel drugs and technologies. The more than 2000 entries are written by leading experts in pharmacology and psychiatry and comprise in-depth essays, illustrated with full-color figures, and are presented in a lucid style.
Contains approximately 350 A-to-Z signed entries focus on the information that addiction treatment and prevention professionals and allied health professionals need to effectively work with clients. The scope includes behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, gambling and compulsive shopping. Preparation of the profession is heavily featured in numerous articles on standards, training, ethics and professional organizations. An emphasis on expectations and current practice make this set and excellent resource for those preparing for work in their fields.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health presents authoritative and comprehensive information on 500 topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders, drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). The new edition reflects suggested additions and changes to the forthcoming DSM-5 and includes over 65 new entries, photos of common medications, and age- and gender-specific topics such as juvenile bipolar disorder, late-life depression, and conditions specific to men and women.
Use the link and video tutorial below to learn how to search ATS and AU's catalog of print materials available for checkout for Ashland Theological Seminary students.
Looking for more resources? Check our Extended Resources guide! Visit this Extended Resources guide for a collection of works that have been included in past syllabi from ATS Counseling/CMHC professors. These works may supplement your current knowledge, or be a handy resource for future scholarship. Materials included here are currently both print and electronic listings.
Use the databases listed below to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health.
Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content) Included in OneSearch
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage Dates: 1984 -
Academic Search Complete is included in OneSearch
Psychology database containing full text from 400 journals, with total journal/magazine coverage exceeding 560.
Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Abstracts more than 1,300 core journals as well as 3,350+ additional journals. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Also features over 25,000 author profiles per the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. Dates covered: 1903-present. Included in OneSearch
Provides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure. Dates covered: 1930-present. Included in OneSearch
Use these databases of eBook collections listed below to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
Electronic books (e-books) with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Collection includes of fully searchable full-text online books; there are thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK and public-domain e-books.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in numerous subject areas.
Encompasses the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions), with an overall total of half a million documents. This database is not included in OneSearch
A collection of important scholarly ebooks from Oxford University Press
Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Works purchased by OhioLINK include titles in the subject collections of Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Journals and Periodicals Online
Use this collection of databases that focus on journal articles and periodicals to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
Includes full text of more than 7,000 research journals
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present. Included in OneSearch
Includes scholarship from over one thousand journals across 50+ disciplines, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within a few years of the present. For most journals, recent issues not included. Dates covered: 1800s-2000s. Included in OneSearch
Theses and Dissertation Databases
The following databases focus on collecting electronic versions of graduate academic scholarship across the world. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.
A free online database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.
Contains abstracts for all included theses and dissertations. Full-text available on an "as provided" basis. A component of the OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons. Dates covered: 1960s-present. Included in OneSearch