Skip to main content

Ashland Theological Seminary Library

Website and research guide for Ashland Theological Seminary students. We are a Graduate Division of Ashland University.

The following is an overview of Chaplaincy. You can use the other tabs located on the top of this page to discover and search relevant databases, ebooks, theses, and journals related to Chaplaincy. For a curated list of articles, ebooks, and multimedia related to Chaplaincy, visit the Areas of Service sub-tab located in the purple navigation bar on the left side of the screen.

 

What is Chaplaincy?

Chaplaincy ministry is a type of pastoral care in which chaplains take their training into the world to meet individuals where they are. Chaplains use their training and their knowledge of Scripture to encourage, comfort, and support others in many different walks of life, often in multi-cultural and multi-faith contexts.

Where Do Chaplains Serve?

Chaplains serve in many areas, such as: in airports, on college campuses, in crisis situations, in first-responder services, within healthcare, in hospice, in the military, within corrections, at sea and seaports, on sports teams, and in the workplace. To access articles, ebooks, and multimedia regarding these areas of chaplaincy, click on the Chaplaincy Areas of Service tab on the left-hand navigation bar.

What Organizations Support Chaplains in Their Work?

Board Certification: The Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (ACPE) is a certifying body here in the United States. Learn more via the “Board Certification” tab under the Chaplaincy Organizations and Agencies side navigation tab.

Professional Organizations: There are many professional organizations that support chaplains, including: American Association of Christian Counselors (AACC), American Correctional  Chaplain’s Association (ACCA), Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (ACPE), Association of Professional Chaplains, Canadian Association for Spiritual Care, College of Pastoral Supervision and Psychotherapy (CPSP), International Conference of Police Chaplains, National Association of Catholic Chaplains, National Conference on Ministry to the Armed Forces, National Institute of Business and Industrial Chaplains, The Network on Ministry in Specialized Settings (COMISS Network), and the New York Board of Rabbis. Contact information and more can be found on the “Professional Organizations” tab under the Chaplaincy Organizations and Agencies side-navigation tab.

Endorsing Bodies: There are over 230 endorsing bodies for chaplains. You can find hyperlinks to the endorsing bodies, and a current up-to-date list via the Chaplaincy Innovation Lab, by going to the “Endorsing Bodies” tab on the Chaplaincy Organizations and Agencies side-navigation tab.

Commentaries and Dictionaries

The following electronic and print reference resources are for study and analysis of scripture and Biblical and theological concepts.

 

Available Electronically:

 

Available In Print:

Print Materials

Use the link and video tutorial below to learn how to search ATS and AU's catalog of print materials available for checkout for Ashland Theological Seminary students.

Databases

Use the databases listed below to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.

eBook Databases

Use these databases of eBook collections listed below to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.

Journals and Periodicals Online

Use this collection of databases that focus on journal articles and periodicals to conduct your research. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.

Theses and Dissertation Databases

The following databases focus on collecting electronic versions of graduate academic scholarship across the world. If you are accessing a database from a location off-campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.

Online Resources

The following are free online resources to help you in your research and studies of chaplaincy.