Skip to main content

English Composition (100, 101, 102): OneSearch

Ashland University Library: OneSearch

OneSearch is a comprehensive search tool, or discovery layer, that facilitates access to almost all of AU library's resources using a single search box. As with any search tool, the key is to select the right resource for the job.

OneSearch
 

One Search 

A great starting point for research, OneSearch will locate books in the AU Library catalog, articles from EbscoHOST databases (such as Academic Search Complete), DVDs and Music CDs, IRC collection items, Government documents, and e-books.

When using OneSearch from off-campus, initial search results are viewable. Authentication is required to view full database article resources. Need help? Visit AU Library's Connecting From Off-Campus.

Library Resource Links

Use Library resource links for access to these resources.

1. Library Catalog
If you are looking for items in the AU Library collection, including IRC resources, juvenile collection, DVDs, Music CDs and other resources, choose the library catalog for your search.  

 

2. Databases
Do you need to do research in a specific database? The database link provides an alphabetical listing of AU Library databases available for use. Browse or search the list of databases by title. A complete list of library databases is also available using the Library Guides A to Z list.

 

3. Journal Finder
Are you interested in a specific journal? Use our Journal Finder to locate journals by title and publisher. It is also possible to locate journals in a particular subject area and view an alphabetical listing of available journal titles.

 

4. Library Guides
The research guide link provides access to Library Guides, aka LibGuides, resource guides developed by AU Librarians for instruction, research, general use, and course support.

 

5. OhioLINK
Choose OhioLINk for easy access to the OhioLINK catalog and all things OhioLINK, such as The Electronic Journal Center (EJC),Digital Resource Commons, and the E-Book Center.


Welcome icon by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC 3.0 BY

OneSearch: What to Expect

OneSearch is a useful first step for your search. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak. It allow you to identify relevant resources—books, e-books, and articles—from one place without having to choose among databases or the library catalogs.
 

OneSearch is one step in the research process.
Why? OneSearch does not:

  • Cover all the databases to which AU Library subscribes
  • Have advanced search and usage features offered by other databases, such as MedLINE or PsycINFO.

 

OneSearch + Databases

If you need to conduct a comprehensive search, such as an in-depth literature review, you should search individual databases, as well as OneSearch.

As you become more proficient in the research process of your major, you will want to grow more familiar with mastering the discipline-specific databases.

OneSearch: Benefits & Search Options

OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is incredibly useful when you just need basic information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.

OneSearch is a great tool when you think you have exhausted all other sources and want to verify you have not overlooked a relevant database or book.

OneSearch will return a large number of results with each initial search. Take advantage of the limit options on the left sidebar of the results screen.

  • Publication Date: Choose a specific year or date range.
  • Source Type: Limit to academic journals, e-books, reviews, etc.
  • Location:  View results AU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK catalog.
  • Publisher or Publication: Limit to a specific publisher or publication.
  • Collection: Select a collection such as OhioLINK music center or ETD
  • Catalogs & Databases: Select a database such as JSTOR or ATLA
  • Subject: Choose from provided subtopics to refine your search

Need Help?

 

Need help finding a particular book, constructing a better search or deciding which database to use?  We'd love to answer your research questions. 

  Reference DeskSTOP by the Information Desk for One-on-One help  
 Email EMAIL a Reference Librarian - library@ashland.edu   
 Schedule SCHEDULE a Research Appointment with a Reference Librarian 
 TelephoneCALL us @ 419-289-5402  
 ChatCHAT with a Reference Librarian - Help Page