Census data can be confusing. Give yourself plenty of time to become familiar with the tools. When most people hear the word "census," they think of the Census of Population that is required by the U.S. Constitution. The Census collects current and historic population data collected by the Census, in addition to other censuses, like the Census of Agriculture and the Economic Census.
2010 Census Data A website specifically about the 2010 Census, how it was collected, the data that will be available, and what will be done with the data.
U.S. Census Bureau Website of the United States Census Bureau, which is responsible for collecting Census data.
American FactFinder is a tool for searching for Census data collected since 1990. FactFinder is the best source for current Census information. Coverage includes:
FactFinder enables you to:
FactFinder is a powerful tool, but it can be challenging to use.
Here are some tTips for using American FactFinder
An easy way to find data in American FactFinder is to enter search terms in the Quick Start section of the Main Page
Example, to find data about grandparents in Indiana:
The Search Page displays showing the best matches for the search terms you entered.
Notice that the search terms you entered are listed in the Your Selections section of the Left Navigation Bar.
The names of tables and other products (documents, prepackaged data files, etc.) matching the items in Your Selections are displayed in the Results section of the Search Page.
You can use the American Community Survey (ACS) in different ways and for different reasons. The US Government provides these PDF Compass handbookson a particular group with specific how-to instructions and/or case studies.For an introduction to ACS data, we recommend the compass handbook for General Data Users.
• State and County QuickFacts—Easy access to facts about people, business, and geography, based on U.S. Census data:
• Epodunk: The Power of Place—Obtain information from the U.S. Census Bureau about a specific city, county, town, or community, and links to other useful websites:
This is the first of a 5 part series of census tutorials created by George Mason UniversityLibrary. The subsequent videos in the series deal with using census data to create maps.
CDC WonderWide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research.
ChildStats.gov Statistics and reports on children and families, including: health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Data Resources for Child & Adolescent Health Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings from large population-based surveys with data collected from parents.
FASTSTATS (Centers for Disease Control) Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.
FedStats.gov Statistics from more than 100 federal agencies , including health agencies.
Health Data Tools and Statistics Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.
Health Indicators Warehouse A source for national, state, and community health indicators, categorized by the associated levels of data by topic, by geography and by initiative.
Healthy People 2020 Includes health indicators.
Kaiser State Health FactsA great source for state health data and state data comparisons.
MedlinePlus Health StatisticsLinks to a variety of health related statistics from the federal government and other sources.
National Center for Health Statistics "A rich source of information about America's health."
Statistical Abstract of the United States - Health Includes statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption.
Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) Program "A premier source for cancer statistics in the United States."
USDA Reports, Studies and Statistics Access to statistics and other reports and data from the U.S. Dept of Agriculture.