Skip to main content

MAHRC-Masters of Health Risk Communication: Article Databases

How to Get a Copy of an Article

Once you have located a citation for an article in a database, there are several ways to get a copy of the article.

1. If you're lucky, there will be a link to the full-text article right below the citation in the list of the results of your search. The link may be to a PDF or HTML copy, or it may link you to the publisher's web site.

2. There is always an icon that reads below each citation. By clicking on , you can see if our library owns a copy of the journal in which the article is published, or it may provide you with a link to the article in another database.  If so, that link will be highlighted in yellow.  Just follow the link.

3. In the event that the article is not available in full text from the databases, and we do  not have a copy of the journal, then you may order a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.  Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form and the article will be mailed to you free of charge.  You may keep the article.  This service may take from 3-10 days, so make sure to start your research early.

CQ Researcher Database--Health Current Events

CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Congressional Quarterly on a wide variety of timely, controversial, and emerging issues in public policy. While it does not have peer -reviewed articles from subject experts, it is useful for helping you to frame a research question, develop a list of keywords and understand the main issues.

Each report provides an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; and tables and maps.  Make sure you check the dates--some reports are a bit outdated.

Some included health topics;

Mental Health

Health Insurance and Managed Care

Newspaper, Magazine Articles + Broadcast Transcripts

The EBSCO brand databases frequently include newspaper articles, but this database is a more comprehensive source of newspaper articles.

Find Articles in Communication and Media Database

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.  We subscribe to databases on almost every topic. This is the most useful for finding articles on health communications, health campaigns or promotions.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Medical and Other Useful Databases

Google Scholar (AU free access to subscription articles)

This searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.  Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations. 

Typically one encounters a fee for accessing articles in Google Scholar or other search engines. However, because of  your affiliation with AU and OhioLINK, Google Scholar can directly link you to quality resources . When on campus your search results will immediately indicate if the items are available through OhioLINK.

To show links to OhioLINK Resources from off-campus, you will need to change Google Preferences on your computer.

Directions:

  • On the Google Scholar page, click "Scholar Preferences."  (The link is to the right of the search box.)
  • In the "Library Links" box, type in "Ohiolink" and click "Find Library."
  • Put check marks in the boxes that appear:

OhioLINK- Find it with OLinks

Open WorldCat - Library Search

  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Save Preferences."
  • You may now start searching for articles in Google Scholar. If an article is available full-text through one of our subscription databases, you will see a link that says "Full-Text from OhioLINK OLinks"

Google Scholar (or quick search below)

Google Scholar Search

Select Journals

These are just a few examples of our journals.  To actually find journal articles, it's more efficient to use a database.

 

Off-Campus Login

Many of  our resources, such as e-books, databases, and digital film, are restricted to faculty & students at Ashland University..

Qualified users can get access to these resources from off-campus by using the library's EZProxy server. Enter your Ashland University ID number (seven digits) and your last name and click "Login" to use the remote resource via the proxy server.

Example: