focuses on the state and progress of
statistics. Based on what countries report to the international statistical system,it analyzes their capacity to produce statistics on gender issues, and highlights progress made in reporting those statistics...

Published annually by UNCTAD, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

The focus is on lesser-known areas of the world. Does not include major countries.

Doing Business provides a wealth of information for studying business regulations across countries. This excellent World Bank publication "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." Data are gathered by a network of legal and business professionals from all 185 economies. The reports may be viewed in various languages, such as Portuguese or Arabic. Several tabs across the top of the home page allow for more specific searches.

A large, well-organized site, created and maintained by the University of Texas at Austin, that provides electronic access to approximately 4,000 maps for all regions of the world. Maps cover mostly the 19th and 20th centuries though some represent time p

An ever-growing collection of primarily 18th- and 19th-century North and South American cartographic materials with approximately 5,000 maps currently in place. High-quality digital images showcasing a variety of maps, atlases, globes, and other cartograp

Provides access to digital representations of maps found in the Geography and Maps Division of the Library of Congress and covering the years 1500–1999. Search using keywords or browse the subject, title, creator, and geographic indexes to find maps tha

This site from the U.S. Census Bureau is the site to visit for 2000 Census data and provides both reference maps, which show basic boundary information (cities, counties, census tracts, etc.) and thematic maps. The Thematic Map option allows the user to s

From the University of Virginia. The beginnings of an online "historical geography of America" with extensive links to other map collections.

The World Factbook Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.