Skip to main content

COM 120 Health Communication: Articles & Databases

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides full-text access to reports from Congressional Quarterly on a wide variety of timely, controversial, and emerging issues in public policy. While it does not have peer -reviewed articles from subject experts, it is useful for helping you to frame a research question, develop a list of keywords and understand the main issues.

Each report provides an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; and tables and maps.  Make sure you check the dates--some reports are a bit outdated.

Some included health topics;

Heart Disease and Strokes

Abortion, Contraception and Reproductive Issues

Mental Health

Health Insurance and Managed Care

Newspaper, Magazine Articles + Broadcast Transcripts

Newspaper Source

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 domestic and international newspapers, including USA Today, Washington Post, and Times (London).

American Periodicals: 1740-1940 (Proquest)

Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and ladies' magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. Digitized reproduction of full pages allows researchers too see all original typography, drawings, graphic elements, article layouts, advertisements, and other matter exactly as originally published. (ProQuest) Dates covered: 1740-1940 This resource is not included in OneSearch

NexisUni

Provides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes full text of more than 1,000 U.S. and international newspapers, plus coverage of 300+ magazines/journals.

Find Articles in Communication and Media Database

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.  We subscribe to databases on almost every topic. This is the most useful for finding articles on health communications, health campaigns or promotions.. 

 

How to Find Scholarly Articles (OhioLINK)

Use this guide to search citations you've found in other articles, if you need additional help a reference librarian can walk you through the process.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Medical and Other Useful Databases

Select Journals

These are just a few examples of our journals.  To find more journal resources, use Journal Finder.

Interlibrary Loan Articles

We offer interlibrary loan for articles that are not available through our databases or from our print collection of journals.  Interlibrary loan articles will be mailed to your address. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.