Skip to main content

Children's Authors & Illustrators: Anthony Browne

This guide is a starting point for children and young adult author and illustrator resources.
Included with each page is a listing of AU Library collection holdings, journal articles available in library databases, and internet resources.

Juvenile Collection

These books are part of the main juvenile circulating collection; each title is linked to the Ashland University library catalog record for more information. Call numbers presented below each title will help locate books on the second floor of Ashland University library. Directional signs are located at the end of each row (stack), be sure to stop in the IRC if you need help finding a book!

Article Resources: Library Databases

The following articles are available using Ashland University Library’s database collection; links will direct you to the article presented.

Accessing from off campus? It will be necessary to authenticate using your AU ID number and last name prior to viewing article selections.

Search AU Library and OhioLINK databases for additional author and illustrator information as well as access to book reviews in Booklist, Book Links, Horn Book Magazine, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly using Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete, Literature Resource Center, and Education Full Text.

 


 

Arizpe, E. (2001). ‘Letting the Story Out’: Visual Encounters with Anthony Browne’s The TunnelReading35(3), 115.

Bradford, C. (1998). Playing with Father: Anthony Browne's Picture Books and the MasculineChildren's Literature In Education29(2), 79-96.


Knight, G. (2009). Anthony BrowneNATE Classroom, (9), 18-20.


Morrow, R. (2007). 'Surreal' PicturebooksBookbird: A Journal Of International Children's Literature (University Of Toronto Press)45(3), 31-38.


Styles, M. (2001). A Gorilla with ‘Grandpa's Eyes’: How Children Interpret Visual Texts—A Case Study of Anthony Browne's ZooChildren's Literature In Education32(4), 261-281.

Juvenile Big Books

Big Books are located adjacent to the book kits in the juvenile stacks. Big Books are presented in hanging bags, shelved numerically. 

IRC Materials Kits

Materials Kits are located in the Instructional Resource Center; kits are shelved numerically.