Skip to main content

TH 303 American Musical Theatre: Books

Use this guide as a starting point for your research project. .

Reference books to start your research

The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Greenwood Press, 1999
   ML102.M68 H57 1999


The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Greenwood Press, 1995
   ML102.M88 H59 1995


American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion (2nd ed., 4 vols.)
   by Ken Bloom
   Schirmer Books; Prentice Hall International, 1996-2001
   ML128.M78 B6 1996


American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Oxford University Press, 2001
   PN2277.N5 H57 2000


Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (centennial ed., 6 vols.)
   Schirmer Books, 2001
   ML105 .B16 2001


Broadway: Its History, People, and Places: An Encyclopedia
   by Ken Bloom
   Routledge, 2004
   F128.65.T5 B56 2004


Broadway Musicals, Show by Show (5th ed.)
   by Stanley Green
   Hal Leonard, 1996
   ML1711 .G735 1996


Broadway: The American Musical
   by Laurence Maslon
   Bulfinch Press, 2004
   ML1711.8.N3 M37 2004


A Chronology of American Musical Theater (3 vols.)
   by Richard C. Norton
   Oxford University Press, 2002
   ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002


Complete Book of the American Musical Theater: A Guide to More Than 300 productions... (Rev. ed.)
   by David Ewen
   Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1959
   ML1711 .E9 1959


The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 (4 vols.)
   by Roger D. Kinkle
   Arlington House, 1974
   ML102.P66 K55


The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (8 vols.)
   compiled and edited by Colin Larkin 
   Muze, 1998
   ML102.P66 G84 1998


The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (2nd ed., 3 vols.)
   by Kurt Gänzl
   Schirmer Books, 2001
   ML102.M88 G3 2001


Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre: An Updated Reference Guide to over 2000 Performers, Writers, Directors, Productions, and Songs of the Musical Stage, Both in New York and London
   by Stanley Green
   Da Capo Press, 1976 
   ML102.M88 G7 1980


Gänzl's Book of the Musical Theatre
   by Kurt Ganzl and Andrew Lamb
   Schirmer Books, 1989
   MT95 .G2 1989


Film It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical
   by Thomas Hischak
   Greenwood, 2001
   PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001


Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical
   by William A. Everett and Paul R. Laird
   Scarecrow Press, 2008
   ML102.M88 E94 2008


The New Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theatre Literature by Voice Type and Song Style (rev. ed.)
   by David P. DeVenney
   Scarecrow Press, 2009
   ML128.M78 D48 2009


The New Grove Dictionary of American Music (4 vols.)
   edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie. 
   Macmillan, 1986
   ML101.U6 N48 1986


The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 29 vols.)
   edited by Stanley Sadie
   Grove, 2000
   ML100 .N48 2000


The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television
   by Thomas Hischak
   Oxford University Press, 2008
   ML102.M88 H593 2008

Theatre Biography Reference Books

American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
   by Thomas S. Hischak 
   Oxford University Press, 2001
   PN2277.N5 H57 2000


American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion (2nd ed., 4 vols.)
   by Ken Bloom 
   Schirmer Books; Prentice Hall International, 1996-2001
   ML128.M78 B6 1996


The Biographical Encyclopaedia and Who's Who of the American Theatre 
   edited by Walter Rigdon
   J. H. Heineman, 1965
   PN2285 .R5


The Cambridge History of American Theatre (3 vols.)
   edited by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby
   Cambridge University Press, 1998-2000
   PN2221 .C37 1998


The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville
   by Anthony Slide
   Greenwood, 1994
   PN1968.U5 S37 1994


Enter the Playmakers: Directors and Choreographers on the New York Stage
   by Thomas S. Hischak
   Scarecrow Press, 2006
   PN1998.2 .H596 2006


The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy: A Biographical Dictionary of Major Figures in American Stage History in the Pre-Stonewall Era
   edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke
   University of Michigan Press, 2005
   PN2286.5 .G38 2005


Hollywood Songsters
   by James Robert Parish and Michael R. Pitts 
   Garland, 1991
   ML400 .P295 1991


Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary
   edited by Alice M. Robinson, Vera Mowry Roberts, and Milly S. Barranger 
   Greenwood Press, 1989
   PN2285 .N65 1989


The Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3rd ed.)
   by Gerald Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak
   Oxford University Press, 2004
   PN2220 .B6 2004


Popular American Composers from Revolutionary Times to the Present: A Biographical and Critical Guide (1 vol. + supplement)
   compiled and edited by David Ewen
   Wilson, 1962
   ML390 .E845


Women and Music in America since 1900: An Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
   edited by Kristine H. Burns
   Greenwood Press, 2002
   ML82 .W625 2002

 

GENERAL

The Encyclopedia of World Theater
   Scribner, 1977
   PN2035 .E52 1977


The Great Stage Directors: 100 Distinguished Careers of the Theater
   by Samuel L. Leiter 
   Facts on File, 1994
   PN2205 .L44 1994


The International Who Is Who in Music
   edited by J. T. H. Mize 
   Who Is Who in Music, 1951
   ML105 .I5


The Oxford Companion to the Theatre (3rd ed.) 
   edited by Phyllis Hartnoll
   Oxford University Press, 1967
   PN2035 .H3 1967


Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary 
   edited by John W. Frick and Stephen M. Vallillo
   Greenwood Press, 1994
   PN2205 .T54 1994


Who's Who in the Theatre (6 editions) 
   Pitman; Gale, 1947-1981
   PN2012 .W5

 

Library Catalogs

Ashland University Library Catalog

AU Library Catalog:


OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK Catalog:
 
About OhioLINK:
  • OhioLINK is a consortium of 90 Ohio  academic libraries.  It includes the Cleveland Clinic Library and NEOUMED Libraries.
  • You may request that books be sent to or you may return to any OhioLINK library near your location.
  • Your library record, including OhioLINK loans, are maintained by the AU Library. Link to My Account on Library home page. View or renew there.
  •  It normally takes 3-4 days for items requested from OhioLINK to arrive at the designated pick-up location. You may return to any OhioLINK library.
  • you will be emailed when OhioLINK requests are ready for you to pick up at the library you designated
  • This service is not used to request articles. 

 Map of OhioLINK libraries

 

 Go to the WorldCat Catalog

Includes books and other media in US libraries.  Used only for locating, not requests. Enter your zipcode to find availability in a library near you.

What's the difference between a SUBJECT and a KEYWORD search?

Keyword Search

 Uses natural language. Type a word or phrase.  Use only simple words, not sentences or concepts. 

 With keyword searches you can use these search tips: 

¨      Use AND to limit your search to results that include ALL of the keywords. Example- orem  AND self-care

¨      Use OR to expand your search and indicate that you would like results with either term. Example-tumor OR neoplasm

-      You can use ANDs and ORs.  Example-(tumor OR neoplasm)  AND child

¨      Use * as a wildcard.  Tacked on to a root word it retrieves variants. For example: nurs* retrieves articles on nurse, nurses, nursing, etc. 

-      Use quote marks or parentheses to indicate that you want one or more words in the exact order in which you  type them.  Example-“myocardial infarction”  or  (myocardial infarction) AND (long-term care)

¨      Try to think of other ways to think of your concept in order to increase your results.  Example-Rather than looking for articles on “gender” you can try: gender OR sex difference OR male OR female OR men  OR women

Subject Search 

·       Requires specific Library of Congress Subject Headings. The words have to be typed in the exact order used by Library of Congress.  When you see Subject terms in a book record, they are links.  Click and you'll find more books on that topic.

       Examples of Library of Congress Subject Headings  

 
Actors -- United States -- Biography
Actresses -- Biography
Choreographers -- United States
Choreographers -- United States -- 20th century
Composers -- United States
Dance in motion pictures, television, etc
Entertainers -- United States
Librettists
Musical theater -- Production and direction
Musicals
Musicals -- Encyclopedias
Musicals -- Excerpts, Arranged
Musicals -- History and criticism
Musicals -- Librettos
Musicals -- Production and direction
Musicals -- Stories, plots, etc
Musicals -- United States
Musicals -- United States -- History and criticism
Popular music -- United States -- History and criticism
Revues -- Excerpts
Singers -- United States -- Biography
Theatrical producers and directors -- United States
Women singers -- United States
Women singers -- United States -- Biography


AU Library Books

These are just a few examples of  musical theatre books available at the AU Library.