Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Oxford companion to music
"This new online-only edition of The Oxford Companion to Music is a partial revision that focuses on living composers and their music, and adds some terms, works, and cross-references to the original text. Bibliographies have also been substantially revised and updated. This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject. It places music in its social and cultural context, with a range of new entries on topics such as politics, religion, psychology, and computers. The book covers current research in and approaches to music, including analysis, theory, ethnomusicology, and performance practice. All varieties of musical forms are covered, including jazz, popular music, and dance."
A cultural psychology of music education
Explores the ways in which the discipline of cultural psychology can contribute to our understanding of how music development occurs in a range of cultural settings, and the subsequent implications of such understanding for the theory and practice of music education.
Searching for E-Books
It's important to use the AU Library catalog to find ebooks. Most of our ebook subscriptions are not in the OhioLINK catalog.
To find an electronic book, do an ADVANCED KEYWORD search in the AU CATALOG and limit the LOCATION to Electronic Books.
EZ PROXY LOGIN
If off campus, you will need to log in to use ebooks. You can either click here for the EZ Proxy login, or you will be prompted when you open an ebook.
The concise Oxford dictionary of music
Includes over 14,000 entries on musical terms, musical works, musical instruments and their history, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. It also boasts comprehensive works lists for major composers. Fully revised and updated, the 5th edition contains over 200 new entries, including information on approximately 150 new performers.
Encyclopedia of popular music
"This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system"