Skip to main content

SOC 111 Principles of Sociology: Journals & Databases

Looking for Specific Article or Journal?

It's easy enough to find an article on a topic in a database, but it's a bit challenging to find a specific article when you have only a citation. Out of all the information contained in the citation (author(s) name, article title, journal title, dates and pages), you need to start with the journal title in order to track down the article.  Your first goal is to determine which database includes that journal.  We have access to thousands of journals, some in print format and most available electronically through our databases and subscriptions. 

To determine which databases include a particular journal title, follow these steps: 

1.) First check the AU Library Catalog, performing a title search.  The results will show if we own the print edition and may possibly link you a database that includes the journal.  Not all electronic journals are included in the catalog.

2.) You can also do a search in Journal Finder, found on the library home page.  Journal Finder is a tool that will show you if we have access to a journal in one or more databases.  Simply type in the title and it will display links to the relevant databases when available.  However, not all of our journals, print or electronic,  are included in Journal Finder. 

3.) If you do not find the required journal title in the AU Library Catalog or Online Journals by Title, you may want to try the database called Electronic Journal Center (EJC).  All journals included in the EJC are available in full text.  It includes journals that may not yet be included in the library catalog. 

If you are still unable to locate access to a journal, please ask a reference librarian.  We'll do our best to help you track it down. 

For journal articles not available through our resources, you may submit an interlibrary loan request and the article will be e-mailed to you, free of charge. 

Interlibrary Loan

Databases frequently provide full text of the articles they list, but for many cited articles full text will not be directly available in the library databases.  When you don't see a path to full text you can request a copy of the article through interlibrary loan.

To request an article submit an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form, You can find a quick link to Interlibrary Loan on the library main page.  In some databases each citation without full text has a link to a request form that will auto-fill the bibliographic information, making it especially easy to place a request.

Whichever way you request an article, please allow ten days to receive it.  Many articles arrive within a day or two, but some take longer. Because the library incurs a cost in getting articles (though they are free to you), we ask that you not request articles that will not be useful if not received promptly.

Searching Article Databases

Databases are the most efficient way to find quality articles. It's important to use the most useful database for your particular topic.

Full Database List

Many of the article citations include a link to full text of the article, in either PDF or HTML format. If there is no full text link for an article, click on    Full Text Finder  to discover if the article is available in full text in another of our databases.  If there is no  or full text link, use the Interlibrary Loan Request Form to request the article.

Databases for Sociology

Databases from Related Disciplines

Multi-Disciplinary Databases