Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History & Geography Images
Useful Images for Set Design
New! Free! Simple!
Yale University Art Gallery
You can now enjoy free access to online images of millions of objects housed in Yale's museums, archives, and libraries, courtesy of Yale's new "Open Access" policy." The Yale Digital Commons has an easy-to-use search interface.
"The Yale treasures that are now accessible under the new policy are as wide-ranging as the collections themselves and include such diverse items as a small limestone stela with hieroglyphic inscription from the Peabody Museum of Natural History, a Mozart sonata in the composer's own hand from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, a 15th-century Javanese gold kris handle from the Indo-Pacific collection of Yale University Art Gallery and a watercolor by William Blake from the collection of prints and drawings in the Yale Center for British Art."
From Print Collections
British Library Online Gallery
30,000 items from the British Library.
European digital library, museum and archive. Provides direct access to some 2 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
Images from Life Magazine
Collection of professional photography on the Web: 10 million photos from the legendary archives of LIFE magazine and thousands more added every day.
Insitute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Digital Collections and Content
Search 200 digital resource and image collections created by libraries, museums, historical societies, archives, and other institutions who have received grants from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"Access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books.. ."
Time/ Life Images-Getty
Time & Life Pictures represents some of the world's most recognizable imagery. Offers content from the finest photojournalists, documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience.
American Museum of Photography
The American Museum of Photography is an award-winning Virtual Museum dedicated to educating, informing, and sharing great photographs with millions of Internet visitors world-wide.
Images from U of Wisconsin Digital Library for the Decorative Arts & and Material Culture
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Bridgeman Art Library
world’s leading source of fine art with images
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories,
Private, non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination of information on works of art preserved in churches, cathedrals and monasteries all over the world.
Digital Archive of Art
Online art images from Boston College
Featuring nearly 1600 artworks by more than 575 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of over 7,000 artworks. Includes works from olomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, the Collection Online includes works from the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice, and the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao.
The Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
SAHARA Society of Architectural Historians Architectural Resources Archive
SAHARA is a digital image archive from the Society of Archival Historians
A free tool to record license terms for Creative Commons images
The term "morgue file" is popular in the newspaper business to describe the file that holds past issues flats. The purpose of this site is to provide free image reference material for use in all creative pursuits. This is the world wide web's morguefile.<
NYPL Digital Gallery
online resource for visual arts. Portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research in the UK.
Photomuse.org is the online expression of a long-term alliance between George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film and the International Center of Photography (ICP).
Renaissance and Baroque Architecture
The images included in this collection were scanned from slides taken by Professor C. W. Westfall and used in his survey course, Renaissance and Baroque Architecture (ARH 102), University of Virginia, School of Architecture, Department of Architectural Hi
Technical Advisory Service for Images (TASI) Finding Images Online
TASI is a JISC Advisory Service, which provides advice, guidance and training to the UK's Further and Higher Education community on:Creating digital media resources specifically still images, moving images and sound resources.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
Web Gallery of Art
Virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 20.300 reproductions.
WorldImages--from California State University
WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains nearly 70,000 images. Images may be freely used used for non-profit educational purposes.
Historic New England Collections
Includes wallpaper patterns, artwork, clothing , jewelry, ephemera.
From Yale, Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information