Skip to main content

Physics: E-books

This guide is a starting point for research in the field of Physics. Resources include database recommendations, reference selections, catalog search tips, and internet resources.

Off-Campus Access

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in.  The login screen for our library looks something like this. (NOTE: this is just an illustration)  

Other AU eBook Collections

Not all of our eBook collections are included in OneSearch and they are not in the library catalog.  Go directly to the collections by selecting them from the list of databases on library web site.

 

 ACLS HUMANITIES E-BOOK- This might be useful for your  topic . The online collection of more than 3,700 books of high quality in the humanities recommended and reviewed by scholars. Offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. Adds approximately 500 books annually

Gale Virtual Reference Library--Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in numerous subject areas. Encompasses the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions), with an overall total of half a million documents.

Safari Books Online -Provides an extensive collection of online full-text books in computer science, information technology, and related fields from Pearson, John Wiley & Sons, Addison-Wesley, McGraw-Hill, Peachpit Press, Adobe Press, Apress, Manning, and other information technology and related publishers.

 

 

Searching for E-Books

Use OneSearch on the Library home page, the AU Library Catalog, or individual ebook databases to find ebooks.


Searching for ebooks using OneSearch:

STEP 1

Simply click on the Search button without entering a search.

 


STEP 2

On the next page, scroll to the bottom corner to the heading for Location and check off the box for AU Library Catalog, ELECTRONIC COLLECTION. Then type your search terms in the search boxes at the top of the page and click SEARCH.

 


STEP 3

 On the next page of results, use the left sidebar to Refine Search.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go to Source Type.

 

 

 

If you don't see eBooks listed as a Source Type, click on Show More.


STEP 4

Check eBooks and then click Update.

 


 The list of results will include AU Library eBooks, OhioLINK eBooks, and a few other electronic publications such as government documents. Look for a link that reads eBook Full Text or Connect to resource.   (You will need to log in if you have not already done so.)