Skip to main content

* Communication Studies Resources: Articles & Databases

This guide provides direction to sources that support the Communication Studies curriculum at AU. (Strategic Communication, Sport Communication and Public Relations)

Off-Campus Access to Databases and E-books

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log-in.  You will use your AU Login (the same user name and password as you use for Blackboard or to log onto on-campus computers).

 

Inter-library Loan

Databases frequently provide full-text for many articles but in some cases the full text is not available. 

In order to get an article that is not available online in full text you can request the article by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form.  A link to the form is frequently included beneath the citation in the list of article results. A link to the form can also be found on the library website under Quick Links.

 

Find Articles in Communication and Media Databases

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.  We subscribe to databases on almost every topic. These are the most useful for finding articles on New Media. 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Newspaper Databases

CQ Researcher for informative speeches and debate

CQ Researcher reports typically cover issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report provides an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; and tables and maps.  Especially useful for this class are the pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions and the bibliographies that can direct you to further key sources.