Skip to main content

* English Research: E-Books

Use this guide as a starting point for researching literary topics.

Searching for E-Books

Use the AU Library OneSearch to find eBooks rather than the AU Library Catalog.  Most of our AU eBook subscriptions are not in the AU or OhioLINK catalogs.

To find available electronic books in OneSearch, start with a keyword search using the OneSearch box on the Library home page.   

 

Type in your search

 

 

 

On the next page of results, use the left sidebar to Refine Search.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go to Source Type.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you don't see eBooks listed as a Source Type, click on Show More.

 

Check off eBooks and then click Update.

 

The list of results will include AU Library eBooks, OhioLINK eBooks, and a few other electronic publications such as government documents.

 Look for a link that reads eBook Full Text or Connect to resource.   You will need to log in if you have not already done so.

  

 

More E-books--ACLS Database

Most of our electronic books can be located in our catalog using the directions above.  However, this ACLS database includes many other e-books.  Tip, make sure to put quotes around phrases or names ("Ralph Ellison").

 

American & English Literature Collection

The OhioLINK American & English Literature Collection contains many full-text works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. It also contains 21 historic editions of the Bible in English. Using this system, you can:

  • look for a specific work by author or title.
  • search for a word or phrase across all the literature.
  • search for a word or phrase within one book.
  • browse the contents of a specific collection.

Subcollections with the American & English Literature Collection include:.

  • Poetry: African-American Poetry 1700-1900 ; 20th Cent. African-American Poetry ; American Poetry 1600-1900 ; 20th Cent. American Poetry ; English Poetry ; 20th Cent. English Poetry
  • Drama: American Drama ; English Prose Drama 1280-1915 ; English Verse Dramas 13th-19th Centuries
  • Fiction: Early American Fiction 1774-1850 ; 18th Cent. Fiction 1700-1800
  • Also: Bibliography of American Literature ; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare ; William Butler Yeats Collection ; The Bible in English

E-Book Catalogs

We subscribe to electronic books from several different vendors.  They have different interfaces and policies, so you may want to take a few moments to become familiar with each. The most efficient way to locate an electronic book is to do a keyword search in the library catalog, limiting to the location of "electronic books." Or, you may search the individual vendor catalogs below.

You will be prompted to log in when you click on these links from off-campus.  Or, click on EZ Proxy to log in now.