Skip to main content

* English Research: MFA

Use this guide as a starting point for researching literary topics.

River Teeth

Electronic Journals

 

 

Callaloo publishes original works by and critical studies of black writers worldwide. 

Callaloo is just one of the electronic journals to which AU LIbrary subscribes. To find more electronic journals check our Journal Title List.  You may search by title or browse the subject list.

Interlibrary Loan Articles

We offer interlibrary loan for articles that are not available through our databases or from our print collection of journals.  Interlibrary loan articles will be mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.

Google Scholar

This searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.  Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.  Unlike other search engines, Google Scholar can link you to quality resources because of  your affiliation with AU and OhioLINK. When on campus your search results will indicate if the items are available through OhioLINK.

To show links to OhioLINK Resources from off-campus, you will need to change Google Preferences on your computer.

  • On the Google Scholar page, click "Scholar Preferences."  (The link is to the right of the search box.)
  • In the "Library Links" box, type in "Ohiolink" and click "Find Library."
  • Put check marks in the boxes that appear:

OhioLINK- Find it with OLinks

Open WorldCat - Library Search

  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Save Preferences."
  • You may now start searching for articles in Google Scholar. If an article is available full-text through one of our subscription databases, you will see a link that says "Full-Text from OhioLINK OLinks"

Google Scholar Search

Welcome MFA Students!

 

 

 

 

Welcome to the AU Library Resource Guide for the MFA program. Regardless of where you are studying, the AU librarians can help you.  Many of our resources are accessible from anywhere in the world, 24/7. Other times, we may be able to point you to resources closer to your home.  Please don't hesitate to call or email us.  We look forward to working with you!

 

Literature Publications

Snyder Poetry Collection

Richard Snyder (1925-1986), poet, fiction writer, playwright, and long-time professor of English at Ashland University. He served for fifteen years as English department chair, and in 1969 co-founded and served as co-editor of the Ashland Poetry Press. He was also co-founder of the creative writing major at Ashland University, one of the first at the undergraduate level in the country.

The Snyder Poetry Collection is housed on the fifth floor of the library. 

Ashland Poetry Press

About the Ashland Poetry Press

The mission of the Ashland Poetry Press is to help top-rate poets in mid-career break through to first or second book publication, and to help mature poets define the best accomplishments of their writing careers through the publication of volumes of selected works.

The Ashland Poetry Press was founded in 1969 by Richard Snyder and Robert McGovern. Since then it has published some 90 volumes of poetry and books about poetry.

The press considers unsolicited, book-length manuscripts each year in the Snyder Prize competition. See the guidelines for the Snyder Prize.

Digital Film Catalog

Book Catalog Quick Links

  New Opportunity!

 

 Floorboard Review is--or soon will be!--an online journal that celebrates some of the most beautiful moments in contemporary poetry and photography.  We at Floorboard are absolutely committed to finding art whose careful craft is apparent.  New Floorboards will appear 2 to 4 times a year.

 Floorboard Review Submissions 

Direct questions to Jen

AU IT Dept.

To contact the AU Information Techology Dept. with computer, WebAdvisor access, ID number or email issues:

Phone: (419) 289-5405

Send Help Ticket

  Library News & Updates

Check here for library news and for updates on any technology issues we may be experiencing.

Loading ...