Skip to main content

* English Research: Web Sites

Use this guide as a starting point for researching literary topics.

Early Literature

19th Century Literature

20th Century Literature

Literature Organizations

18th Century Literature

American Literature

African American Literature

Other Useful Web Sites

Drama

Finding Free Online Books

 Internet Archive -Includes fiction, historical texts and academic books.

  • Choose Read Online to read the book fully online in Internet Archives' viewer.
  • Download options include: PDF, EPUB, and Kindle, among others.

 Project Gutenberg - Includes works from the classical era into the 1900s. Many primary sources and reference works.

  • Read online in plain HTML or choose the Download tab for options including EPUB and Kindle.

 Perseus Digital Library - large digital library of primary source works in history, science, and the humanities. The primary collectioncovers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

  • Perseus works better with the Firefox browser.

Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library - includes ebooks from the School of Advanced Military Study, Masters theses, operational documents from various wars and more.

  • Items are in PDF format, open in an embedded Adobe Reader, and are thus easily downloadable.

HathiTrust - Millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, from research libraries. Both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects are included. All items are discoverable, but viewability depends on each individual items copyright status. You mssay also search OhioLINK Catalog for Hathi Trust resources.

University independent digitization projects:

  • Illinois Harvest includes books digitized from the University of Illinois
  • Harvard University Open Collections Program provides digitized books from their archives and special collections.
  • Columbia University Press' Gutenberg-e site allows free access to its collection of award-winning books on history.
  • University of Adelaide provides full-text eBooks of classic works through