Skip to main content

* Biology Research: Article Databases

This guide is a starting point for research in the field of Biology. Resources include database recommendations, reference selections, catalog search tips, and internet resources.

Off-Campus Access

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in.  The login screen for our library looks something like this. (NOTE: this is just an illustration)  

Life Science Databases

Botany Databases

Searching Article Databases

Databases are the most efficient way to find quality articles. It's important to use the most useful database for your particular topic.

Many of the article citations include a link to the full text of the article, in either PDF or HTML format. If there is no full text link for an article, click on    Full Text Finder  to discover if the article is available in full text in another of our databases.  If there is no  or full text link, click on the Interlibrary Loan link to request the article. 

The Search Tips on the Books page are also used for database searching.  

Full Database List

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

These databases cover many disciplines. 

Biological Science Databases-General

Web of Science Tutorial

 

Save time. Check out this brief tutorial on doing an advanced search in Web of Science.    (6 min. 14 sec.)

Web of Science is a powerful article citation index that creates connections between research papers, conference proceedings, and more.  Use Web of Science to follow current trends and patterns in multiple fields of academic research and find resources for your own research.