Skip to main content

IRC Mock Caldecott Panels

Archive of Mock Caldecott sessions from 2002 - 2016

Mock Caldecott Panels: 2005 - 2010

Mock Caldecott Panel: Spring 2011

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature classes participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Tuesday, January 18, 2011. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2010 Caldecott Award to be announced during ALA's Midwinter meetings (San Diego, CA) in January 2011.

About the Titles: Titles selected for review mix well known illustrators with artists new to the field of picture books illustration. A variety of art mediums are represented including collage, painted oils, pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, and mixed media. Each title under consideration is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection (November 2010 - January 2011).
 

Illustrator Author Title
David Small Jane Yolen Elise's Bird
David Wiesner David Wiesner Art & Max
Emily Arnold McCully Emily Arnold McCully The Secret Cave
Robert Neubecker Treat Williams Air Show!
Floyd Cooper Calvin Ramsey Ruth and the Green Book
Don Wood Audrey Wood Piggy Pie Poe
Joe Cepeda Toni Morrison The Tortoise or the Hare
Keith Graves Keith Graves Chicken Big
Paul O. Zelinsky Anne Isaacs Dust Devil
Jules Fieffer Norton Juster The Odious Ogre
Allen Say Allen Say The Boy in the Garden
James Rumford James Rumford Rain School
Stephen Alcorn Stephen Alcorn Odetta, Queen of Folk
Scott Nash Gail Carson Levine Betsy Red Hoodie
Jack E. Davis Daniel Pinkwater I am the Dog
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
David Wiesner David Wiesner Art & Max
     
Illustrator Author Honor Book
David Small Jane Yolen Elise's Bird

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Fall 2010

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature classes participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Tuesday, September 7, 2010. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2010 Caldecott Award to be announced during ALA's Midwinter meetings (San Diego, CA) in January 2011.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators and artists new to the field of picture books illustration. A variety of art mediums are represented including collage, painted oils, pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, mixed media (and even photoshop!). Each title under consideration is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection (June 2010 - August 2010). The panels considered sixteen books as possible contenders for the award.
 

Illustrator Author Title
Allen, Rick Sidman, Joyce Dark Emperor & Other Poems of the Night
Baker, Keith Baker, Keith LMNO Peas
Cecil, Randy Howe, James Brontorina
Cooper, Elisha Cooper, Elisha Beaver is Lost
Ehlert, Lois Ehlert, Lois Lots of Spots
Frasier, Debra Fraiser, Debra A Fabulous Fair Alphabet
Johnson, D.B. Johnson, D.B. Palazzo Inverso
McClure, Nikki McClure, Nikki Mama, Is It Summer Yet?
McCully, Emily Arnold McCully, Emily Arnold Wonder Horse
Muth, Jon J. Willems, Mo City Dog, Country Frog
Nguyen, Vincent Spinelli, Eileen Buzz
O'Malley, Kevin O'Malley, Kevin Animal Crackers Fly the Coop
Phelan, Matt Birdsall, Jeanne Flora's Very Windy Day
Qualls, Sean Morrison, Toni & Slade Little Cloud and Lady Wind
Smith, Lane Smith, Lane It's a Book
Thomson, Bill Thomson, Bill Chalk
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
Thomson, Bill Thomson, Bill Chalk
     
Illustrator Author Honor Book
Muth, Jon J. Willems, Mo City Dog, Country Frog

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Spring 2010

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature classes participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Monday, January 25 and Tuesday, January 26, 2010. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2009 Caldecott Award announced at ALA's Midwinter meetings in Boston, January 18, 2010.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators David Shannon, Marla Frazee, Leo and Diane Dillon, and Ted Lewin, known for work in different media's, and artists new to the field of picture books illustration. Different art mediums are represented as well including collage, pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, and mixed media. Each title under consideration is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection (June 2009 - December 2009).

The panels considered seventeen (17) books as possible contenders for the award. The original field was narrowed to four semi-finalists, with a winner and honor books awarded. All titles featured link to the AU library catalog.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Brown, Rod Shange, Ntozake We Troubled the Waters
Catrow, David Crow, Kristyn Middle Child Blues
Christensen, Bonnie Christensen, Bonnie Django: World's Greatest Jazz Guitarist
Christie, R. Gregory Nelson, Vaunda Bad News for Outlaws
Diaz, David Jackson, Jill Let There Be Peace on Earth
Dillon, Leo & Diane Fox, Mem The Goblin and the Empty Chair
Frazee, Marla Scanlon, Liz All the World
Hendrix, John Hendrix, John John Brown: His Fight for Freedom
Hogrogian, Nonny Hogrogian, Nonny Cool Cat
Lewin, Ted Bauer, Marion Dane The Longest Night
McClintock, Barbara Aylesworth, Jim The Mitten
Moser, Barry Palatini, Margie Lousy Rotten Stinkin Grapes
Myers, Christopher Myers, Walter Dean Looking Like Me
Pinkney, Jerry Nelson, Marilyn Sweethearts of Rhythm
Shannon, David Scieszka, Jon Robot Zot
Smith, Lane Heide, Florence Parry Princess Hyacinth
Van Dusen, Chris Van Dusen, Chris The Circus Ship
     
Illustrator Author Monday Panel: Winning Title
Van Dusen, Chris Van Dusen, Chris The Circus Ship
     
Illustrator Author Monday Panel: Honor Books (2)
Christensen, Bonnie Christensen, Bonnie Django: World's Greatest Jazz Guitarist
Myers, Christopher Myers, Walter Dean Looking Like Me
     
Illustrator Author Tuesday Panel: Winning Title
Frazee, Marla Scanlon, Liz All the World
     
Illustrator Author Tuesday Panel: Honor Book
Shannon, David Scieszka, Jon Robot Zot

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Fall 2009

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature classes participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Monday, September 14 and Tuesday, September 15, 2009. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2009 Caldecott Award to be announced at the ALA Midwinter meetings in Boston, January 2010.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators David McPhail, Ed Young, and Christopher Raschka, known for work in different media's, and artists new to the field of picture books illustration. Different art mediums are represented as well including collage, pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, and mixed media. Each title under consideration is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection (January 2009 - June 2009). The panels considered sixteen (16) books as possible contenders for the award.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Berger, Carin Berger, Karin OK, Go
Brown, Peter Brown, Peter The Curious Garden
Cole, Henry Urban, Linda Mouse Was Mad
Diaz, David Chocolate, Debbi El Barrio
Egielski, Richard Winter, Jonah The Fabulous Feud of Gilbert & Sullivan
Emberley, Ed Emberley, Rebecca Chicken Little
Gerstein, Mordicai Gerstein, Mordicai A Book
Hillenbrand, Will Hillenbrand, Will Louie!
Keiser, Paige Barber, Alison The Little Green Pea
Kellogg, Steven Kellogg, Steven The Pied Piper's Magic
McPhail, David McPhail, David No!
Mickelson, Scott Mickelson, Scott Artichoke Boy
McClure, Nikki Rylant, Cynthia All in a Day
Raschka, Christopher Sones, Sonya Violet and Winston
Young, Ed Young, Ed Hook
Zagarenski, Pamela Sidman, Joyce Red Sings from the Treetops: A Year in Colors
     
Illustrator Author Monday Panel: Winning Title
Cole, Henry Urban, Linda Mouse Was Mad
     
Illustrator Author Monday Panel: Honor Books
Keiser, Paige Barber, Alison The Little Green Pea
McPhail, David McPhail, David No!
     
Illustrator Author Tuesday Panel: Winning Title
Brown, Peter Brown, Peter The Curious Garden
     
Illustrator Author Tuesday Panel: Honor Book
Zagarenski, Pamela Sidman, Joyce Red Sings from the Treetops: A Year in Colors
Hillenbrand, Will Hillenbrand, Will Louie!

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Spring 2009

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature class participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Tuesday, February 3, 2009. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2009 Caldecott Award to be announced at the ALA Midwinter meetings in Denver, January 2009.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators Brian Pinkney, Christopher Raschka, and Paul O. Zelinsky, artists known for work in different media's, and artists new to the field of picture books illustration. Different art mediums are represented as well including collage, charcoal pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, markers, and mixed media. Lastly, each title being considered is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection (November - January 2009, published in 2008). The panel considered twenty (20) books as possible contenders for the award.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Alley, R.W. Alley, Zoe There’s a Wolf at the Door
Berger, Carin Berger, Carin The Little Yellow Leaf
Bliss, Harry DiCamillo, Kate Louise, The Adventures of a Chicken
Collier, Bryan Schotter, Roni Doo-Wop Pop
Emberley, Michael Harris, Robie H. Mail Harry to the Moon
Hendrix, John Hopkinson, Deborah Abe Lincoln Crosses a Creek
Isadora, Rachel Idadora, Rachel Rapunzel
Kelley, Marty Kelley, Marty Twelve Terrible Things
Loehr, Patrick Loehr, Patrick Mucumber McGee and The Lunch Lady's Liver
Pinkney, Brian Pinkney, Andrea Davis Boycott Blues: How Rosa Parks Inspired a Nation
Polacco, Patricia Polacco, Patricia Someone for Mr. Sussman
Raschka, Christopher Prokofiev, Sergei Peter and the Wolf
Raschka, Christopher Juster, Norton Sourpuss and Sweetie Pie
Rumford, James Rumford, James Chee-Lin: A Giraffe’s Journey
Shannon, David Shannon, David Too Many Toys
Solomon, Heather Willey, Margaret The 3 Bears and Goldilocks
Stringer, Lauren Rylant, Cynthia Snow
Velasquezs, Eric Boswell, Addie The Rain Stomper
Watson, Wendy Hesse, Karen Spuds
Zelinsky, Paul O. Prelutsky, Jack Awful Ogre Running Wild
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
Bliss, Harry DiCamillo, Kate

Louise, The Adventures of a Chicken

     
Illustrator Author Honor Book(s)
Kelley, Marty Kelley, Marty Twelve Terrible Things
Shannon, David Shannon, David Too Many Toys
Pinkney, Brian Pinkney, Andrea Davis Boycott Blues: How Rosa Parks Inspired a Nation

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Fall 2008

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature class participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Tuesday, September 16, 2008. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the 2009 Caldecott Award to be announced at the ALA Midwinter meetings in Denver, January 2009.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators, including previous award winners such as Uri Shulevitz, Christopher Raschka, and Ed Young, artists known for work in different media's, and illustrators new to the field of children's picture books. Different art mediums are represented as well including collage, charcoal pencil, watercolors, ink, acrylics, markers, and various mixed media. Lastly, each title being considered is a recent addition to the library's juvenile collection. Twenty (20) books were considered as possible contenders for the award.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Brown, Lisa Gary, Meredith Sometimes You Get What You Want
Burke, Jim Yolen, Jane Naming Liberty
Cyrus, Kurt Cyrus, Kurt Tadpole Rex
Diaz, David Diaz, David De Colores = Bright with Colors
Fleming, Denise Fleming, Denise Buster Goes to Cowboy Camp
Gammell, Stephen Lyon, George Ella My Friend, the Starfinder
Garland, Michael Garland, Michael Americana Adventure
Karas, G. Brian Billingsley, Franny Big Bad Bunny
Lehman, Barbara Lehman, Barbara Trainstop
Lewin, Betsy Cronin, Doreen Thump, Quack, Moo: A Whacky Adventure
Parker, Robert Andrew Parker, Robert Andrew Piano Starts Here: The Young Art Tatum
Pedersen, Janet Jackson, Alison Thea's Tree
Potter, Giselle Field, Eugene W. Wynken, Blynken, and Nod
Raschka, Christopher Giovanni, Nikki The Grasshopper's Song
Shulevitz, Uri Shulevitz, Uri How I Learned Geography
Smith, Lane Shea, Bob Big Plans
Smith, Lane Smith, Lane Madam President
Wells, Rosemary Wells, Rosemary Otto Runs for President
Widener, Terry Winter, Jonah Steel Town
Young, Ed Haseley, Dennis Twenty Heartbeats
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
Garland, Michael Garland, Michael Americana Adventure
     
Illustrator Author Honor Book(s)
Gammell, Stephen Lyon, George Ella My Friend, the Starfinder

 

Mock Caldecott Panel: Spring 2008

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature class participated in a Mock Caldecott Award session Tuesday, February 5, 2008. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. This session was planned to review titles with eligibility for the recently announced (January 14, 2008) 2008 Caldecott award.

About the titles: The collection submitted for review is a mix of well known illustrators, including previous award winners such as Leo and Diane Dillon and David Small, artists known for work in different media's, and illustrators new to the field of children's picture books. Different art mediums are represented as well including collage, charcoal pencil,watercolors, ink, acrylics, markers, and various mixed media. Eighteen books were considered as possible contenders for the award.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Aylesworth, Jim Aylesworth Jim Little Bitty Mousie
Breathed, Berkeley Breathed, Berkeley Mars Nees Moms!
Demi Demi The Boy Who Painted Dragons
Dillon, Leo & Diane Dillon, Leo & Diane Jazz on a Saturday Night
Feiffer, Jules Feiffer, Kate Henry, the Dog with No Tail
Freedman, Deborah Freedman, Deborah Scribble
Hartland, Jessie Hartland, Jessie Night Shift
Hawkes, Kevin Madison, Alan Velma Gratch & the Way Cool Butterfly
Johnson, D.B. Johnson, D.B. Four Legs Bad, Two Legs Good!
Kemble, Mai Kemble, Mai The Moon and the Night Sweepers *
Lewin, Ted Lewin, Ted At Gleason's Gym
Paul, Alison Paul, Alison The Crow: A Not So Scary Story
Polacco, Patricia Polacco, Patricia The Lemonade Club
Myers, Christopher Myers, Christopher Jabberwocky
Reed, Lynn Rowe Kanninen, Barbara A Story with Pictures
Small, David Broach, Elise When Dinosaurs Came with Everything
Smith, Lane Scieszka, Jon Cowboy and Octopus
Sylvada, Peter Frank, John How to Catch a Fish
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
Breathed, Berkeley Breathed, Berkeley Mars Nees Moms!
     
Illustrator Author Honor Book Title
Lewin, Ted Lewin, Ted At Gleason's Gym

 

*Title published in 2008, would not have been considered for the 2008 awards cycle.

Mock Caldecott Panel: Fall 2007

Dr. Mary Rycik's children's literature class held a Mock Caldecott Award session on Tuesday, September 18, 2007. Criteria and terms followed were those used by the Association for Library Services for Children, American Library Association Medal committee. Eighteen titles, each published in 2007, were considered as possible contenders for the award.

The original field was narrowed to five; one selected the winner with others awarded honor distinction by the students. This is a short webliography of books considered, illustrator web sites, and related children's literature links used by the panel. All Author, Illustrator, and Title information link to the AU library catalog.

 

Illustrator Author Title
Breen, Steve Breen, Steve Stick
Bryan, Ashley Gilchrist, Jan Spivey My America
Dooling,Michael Atkins,Jeannine Anne Hutchinson's Way
Diaz, David Krull, Kathleen Pocahontas: Princess of the New World
Garland, Michael Garland, Michael How Many Mice
Hall, August Noyes, Deborah When I Met the Wolf Girls
Jackson, Shelley Harrington, Janice The Chicken Chasing Queen of Lamar County
Jenkins, Leonard Hopkinson, Deborah Sweet Land of Liberty
Kulka, Joe Kulka, Joe Wolf's Coming
Lewin, Betsy Spinelli, Eileen Heat Wave
Lewis, E.B. Johnson, Angela Lily Brown's Paintings
Mayer, Mercer Mayer, Mercer The Bravest Knight
Neubecker, Robert Kimmel, Elizabeth Cody The Top Job
Pinkney,Jerry Grifalconi, Ann Ain't Nobody a Stranger to Me
Sheban, Chris Goldberg, Myla Catching the Moon
Skeens, Matthew Firestone, Mary The Liberty Bell
Slack,Michael Kelley, Ellen A. My Life as a Chicken
Zahares,Wade Addy, Sharon Hart Lucky Jake
     
Illustrator Author Winning Title
Sheban,Chris Goldberg, Myla Catching the Moon
     
Illustrator Author Honor Book Titles
Garland,Michael Garland,Michael How Many Mice
Breen,Steve Breen, Steve Stick