Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Resources on the Web
Current Environmental News and Opinion
- E: The Environmental Magazine
Independent online magazine providing information on a wide variety of environmental issues. Includes news articles, blogs, as well as a "Hot Topics" section. The "Resources" section contains featured videos, along with descriptions of and links to relevant mobile phone apps.
- Earth & Environment News from the National Science Foundation
News articles reporting on NSF-funded research in ecology and the environment. Site also includes write-ups of NSF-discoveries in these areas, as well as links to classroom resources for teaching ecological and environmental topics.
- ENN: Environmental News Network
Environmental news and opinion articles compiled from a wide variety of news agencies, as well as from environmental and sustainability organizations.
- Energy & Environment Updates from from New York Times
Environment / sustainability news stories from the New York Times. Site links to Dot Earth, NYT's environmental blog, and to other environmental news sources. Also check out the ENERGY TOPIC GUIDES and Multimedia links on this page.
- Environmental Scene
Part of Chemical and Engineering News, contains up-to-the-minute articles on environmental research, business, and policy, with coverage of climate change, toxic substances and sustainability.
- Living on Earth
Weekly environmental news program from Public Radio International. Site includes text and audio (MP3).
- ScienceDaily – Earth & Climate News
Features science news articles from leading universities and research organizations worldwide. The Earth & Climate section provides coverage of air pollution, climate, renewable energy, and other environmental and sustainability topics.
House Committee on Natural Resources
The House Committee on Natural Resources considers legislation about American energy production, mineral lands and mining, fisheries and wildlife, public lands, oceans, Native Americans, irrigation and reclamation.
Department of the Interior (DoI)
The U.S. Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future.
Department of Energy (DoE)
The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
Useful for finding information about a particular city.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
The Mission of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management is to manage development of U.S. Outer Continental Shelf energy and mineral resources in an environmentally and economically responsible way.
Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)
The Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) works to promote safety, protect the environment, and conserve resources offshore through vigorous regulatory oversight and enforcement.
Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE)
OSMRE is responsible for establishing a nationwide program to protect society and the environment from the adverse effects of surface coal mining operations, under which OSMRE is charged with balancing the nation’s need for continued domestic coal production with protection of the environment.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS provides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods, the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on, the health of our ecosystems and environment, and the impacts of climate and land-use change.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the oldest federal conservation agency, tracing its lineage back to 1871, and the only agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is management of fish and wildlife for the American public.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings, and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product.
U.S. National Park Service (NPS)
The National Park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations.
U.S. Forest Service
The Forest Service's mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the Nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.